Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sacred Heart University Library Newsletter for Faculty No. 24 (August 2021)

Library Newsletter for Faculty No. 24 (August, 2021)

Introducing Library Resources to Students in 2021

Many students this Fall will not be familiar with the Library: two undergraduate classes (1st year and 2nd year) will have no experience of an academic library —and maybe no experience of a public or school library.  Even 3rd year students might have seen the library only in Fall 2019 and early Spring 2020.

As an instructor you should remember: if you mention “they have this database in the library,” that will mean very little to most Gen-Z students.  Let's change that! Too many students default to using Google and are even paying for articles.  The Library provides carefully vetted sources of information, all available to all our users.

Librarians are very aware of this knowledge gap this Fall, and are addressing it in several ways.  They have revised and updated library videos, such as a basic orientation, how to use the QuickSearch service, how to find a database, and how to find articles. (Just four of 25 videos, and 13 interactive video tutorials.) One of the most popular videos covers Off-Campus Database Access.

Health Sciences faculty should guide students to the Health Sciences Library Research Module (tutorial) or the Nursing Research Tutorial.  Another excellent tutorial guides users of SocINDEX, used in a wide variety of social sciences subjects and courses.

You can embed these videos and tutorials directly into your Blackboard course by using the LibGuides tool.  (See this related article, A Service You Should Know About: LibGuides Tool in Blackboard 2.0)

A Resource You Should Know About: Wall Street Journal Campus-Wide Subscription

Wall Street Journal Campus-Wide Subscription

Courtesy of the Jack Welch College of Business and Technology, The Wall Street Journal is now available to all SHU students, faculty, and staff. After creating an account, you will have unlimited access to all WSJ content through their website and mobile apps. Bonus content includes Curated Newsletters, WSJ Videos, WSJ+, and WSJ Podcasts.

You will have to create an account to use this subscription.  Follow the instructions on this page.  This process will work best from an on-campus (in-network) location; if you are off-campus, open a VPN session using Global Protect (you may see this icon), or install it using the instructions on this page.  Be sure to see the Wall Street Journal FAQs at the bottom of this library page if you already subscribe, to get the WSJ app, or have other questions. 

You should use a password for your WSJ account different from the one you use for SHU email or Blackboard.

A Resource You Should Know About: Faculty & Staff Campus-Wide Subscription to The Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle of Higher Education Campus-Wide Subscription for Faculty and Staff

Courtesy of the Jack Welch College of Business and Technology, The Chronicle of Higher Education is now available to all SHU Faculty. After creating an account, you will have unlimited access to all The Chronicle's content, including articles, The Almanac of Higher Education and The Trends Report special issues, daily news, and data back to 1989.

This subscription is limited to SHU faculty and staff; you must use your [name]@sacredheart.edu address.  If you already subscribe to CHE, you will have to contact them at circulation@chronicle.com to request a pro-rated refund. 

You should use a password for your CHE account different from the one you use for SHU email or Blackboard.

A Resource You Should Know About: UpToDate

A Resource You Should Know About: UpToDate from Wolters/Kluwer

Thanks to funding from the university's new MS in Human Clinical Nutrition program, the Sacred Heart University Library is proud to offer access to the point of care tool, UpToDate. This resource is licensed until June 30, 2024, when its use will be re-evaluated.

With this subscription, anyone with a Sacred Heart email address can now register a personal account and start immediately using this resource and its range of features, including the most recent evidence-based clinical information for over 8,500 medical conditions, a large collection of patient education resources, specialty medical calculators, UpToDate's drug interaction tool, and expansive drug database. 

To set up an account, simply go to the UpToDate guide on the Sacred Heart library website. After following the provided instructions, you will then be able to access UpToDate through its SHU library guide, on UpToDate's mobile app, and also directly through their website with your account credentials. Please note that in order to maintain uninterrupted access to UpToDate, you must verify your continued affiliation with SHU once every 90 days. Instructions for verifying your account are found in the library's UpToDate guide.

You should use a password for your UpToDate account different from the one you use for SHU email or Blackboard.

My colleagues and I at the Sacred Heart Library hope that you and your students enjoy our new resource! --Geoffrey Staysniak and the Library Health Sciences Team

A Service You Should Know About: Embedding Library Content in Your Blackboard Course

How To Embed Library Content in Blackboard 2.0

Do you want your student to know about a particular library resource or service, such as finding peer-reviewed articles, using the JLC Online Writing Lab, or avoiding plagiarism?  You can embed content from the library, including video, directly into your Blackboard course.  This quick process involves using one of the Tools in Blackboard, and this video can show you how

Can’t remember what you watched when you go to do it?  The video comes with a transcript (click the Video Transcript button below the video on this page, and you can even get a .pdf copy.  This is a direct path for your students to the content, skill, or resource you want them to use: much better than simply saying, “it’s in the library” or “go to the library.”  Remember: “go to the library” means very little to most of our Gen-Z students.  Let's all change that this Fall!.

Accessibility