Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology Research Guide

How to do research in biology (and other sciences)

Obtaining Full Text Journal Articles

As mentioned on the previous page, it is not best practice to limit your search results within a database to Full-Text only results. SHU library provides several options to access the articles you need for research.

Many of our databases offer full access to PDF files directly. Somewhere on the screen you will see a PDF full-text or HTML full-text link. The HTML full text usually appears below the detailed record of the item.

Other times, an article is unavailable in the database you are searching, but does reside in another one to which SHU library proves access. In this case, you will see View Record from/in where you would normally see the PDF link. Click View Record from/in to be taken to the full-text article in another database.

You might also see the Full-Text Finder button. Clicking this button will cause a search across all of our resources to see if the material is available anywhere else. If it is, you will be provided with a link to the article. If it is not, you will see a message of Sorry this item is not available online. For something that is not available at SHU, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. 

And if you are searching online and come across an article that you want to read, but are asked to pay for it--don't do it! Use our Citation Linker tool to see if we have access to it anywhere. And if we don't, use ILL. Bottom line: Don't pay for research!

Research Tools at SHU

Publication Finder

If you need to find a certain Journal Title, you can use Publication Finder to locate it.

Citation Linker

Sometimes, when using Google or Google Scholar, you come across an interesting or relevant article that is worth your time to read. If you're on-campus, you might have no trouble accessing the full-text of certain articles because, even though you found it using Google, you are using the library's resources to actually get to it. If you're an online or distance student, you might face pay walls where the journal or publisher demands money (a lot of money) to be able to read those articles. SHU Library has two tools that can help if you ever find yourself in this situation: Citation Linker and Inter Library Loan.  

The video below explains how to use Citation Linker to find an article within the library's databases. 

Interlibrary Loan

Although we try to provide access to as many materials as possible, sometimes SHU Library will not have the full-text of a particular article, or a copy of a physical book. In those cases, you can turn to InterLibrary Loan, or ILL to get the materials you need. The video below describes the process of initiating a request. Electronic articles take about 2-3 business days to be delivered to your account, while physical books will take longer. Plan accordingly to give yourself enough time to request and receive your items. 

Accessibility