Research Guides: SWOT Analysis: Opportunities

Opportunities

To evaluate Opportunities, answer these questions:

What are the technology trends in your industry that you could take advantage of?
Could any current social trends benefit your industry?
Have any recent economic or regulatory changes affected the way your industry operates?
Do your current customers have unmet needs? If your customer base is changing, what can you offer these new customers?

Use market research databases to learn about your customers and the consumer demographics of your industry.

Business Insights: Global
Business collection including company fundamentals, investment reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data & company histories.
Business Source Premier
Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Covers more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.

Trade journals are good sources for identifying industry trends. Search using your industry name or NAICS code and combine it with keywords like "trends" or "surveys" or "outlook."

ABI/INFORM Complete
Business, Finance, Economics: Includes local and regional business publications, trade and industry periodicals and the Wall Street Journal. Also includes coverage markets including real estate, environment, healthcare, and education administration.
Business Source Premier
Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Covers more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.

Associations collect industry data, publish industry surveys, monitor regulatory changes and keep their members up-to-date on industry news.

Use Google or another search engine to find industry association websites.

SWOT Analysis

Contact Information

Opportunities

Search

Research Support

Using the Library

User Information

About Us

My Accounts