Research Guides: Biology Research Guide: Biology Databases

Major Databases

BioOne
Full-text and abstracts on biology, ecology and environmental sciences from over 50 journals

Science Direct
Science Direct College Edition provides access to about 350 journals in the health and life sciences, including many full-text, along with abstracts to many books. Subject or keyword access, results formatting and automatic search updates also available.
more...less...
Covers molecular and developmental biology, neurobiology, microbiology, animal behavior, and ecology.
PubMed
The world's most comprehensive biomedical database, covering over 5,000 journals in health care and biomedicine. Produced by the National Center for BioTechnology Information. Search by keyword, author or MeSH subject terms.
JSTOR Life Sciences Collection
Search journal archives across ten disciplines in the biological, health, and general sciences. Areas covered include Aquatic Sciences, Biological Sciences, Developmental & Cell Biology, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, General Science and more.

Ovid
One of the largest single-database aggregations of searchable scientific, technical and medical full-text articles available exclusively through Ovid Online. Includes jourals covering topics in evidence based medicine and systematic reviews.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Similar to searching PubMed through NLM, but includes access to significantly more full-text documents and uses the familiar EBSCOhost search interface.
Link to Medline with Full Text (off campus access requires SHU username and password required)

Medline Basics

Enjoy a short YouTube video on searching the Medline database using the familiar Ebsco search interface

Other Useful Databases

Academic Search Premier
Our largest, multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,700 journals, including full text for more than 4,000 peer-reviewed titles and indexes nearly 13,600 journal titles
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Full text articles on the effects of healthcare, focusing on evidence-based medicine and studies, from 4800 records.

MEDLINE Subject Coverage

The subject scope of PubMed's main (MEDLINE) component includes biomedicine and health, broadly defined to encompass those areas of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. MEDLINE also covers life sciences vital to biomedical practitioners, researchers, and educators, including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry. Increased coverage of life sciences began in 2000.

Elements of a Journal Citation

AUTHORS:

Pasha C, Kuhad RC, Rao LV.

TITLE OF ARTICLE:

Strain improvement of thermotolerant Saccharomyces cerevisiae VS strain for better utilization of lignocellulosic substrates.

JOURNAL NAME, DATE : VOLUME, ISSUE NUMBER AND PAGES:

J Appl Microbiol. 2007 Nov; 103(5):1480-9.

After searching PubMed or Medline, include with your complete citation the PubMed ID number (PMID) when submitting an interlibrary loan request using the e-form from the library Web iste.

Biology Research Guide: Biology Databases

Major Databases

Medline Basics

Other Useful Databases

MEDLINE Subject Coverage

Elements of a Journal Citation

Search

Research Support

Using the Library

User Information

About Us

My Accounts