Radiologic Science for Technologists by Stewart C. Bushong
Develop the skills you need to produce diagnostic-quality medical images! Radiologic Science for Technologists: Physics, Biology, and Protection, 12th Edition provides a solid foundation in the concepts of medical imaging and digital radiography. Featuring hundreds of radiographs and illustrations, this comprehensive text helps you make informed decisions regarding technical factors, image quality, and radiation safety for both patients and providers. New to this edition are all-digital images and the latest radiation protection standards and units of measurement. Written by noted educator Stewart Carlyle Bushong, this text will prepare you for success on the ARRT® certification exam and in imaging practice. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Broad coverage of radiologic science topics includes radiologic physics, imaging, radiobiology, and radiation protection, with special topics including mammography, fluoroscopy, spiral computed tomography, and cardiovascular interventional procedures. Objectives, outlines, chapter introductions, and summaries organize information and emphasize the most important concepts in every chapter. Formulas, conversion tables, and abbreviations provide a quick reference for frequently used information, and math equations are always followed by sample problems with direct clinical application. Key terms are bolded and defined at first mention in the text, with each bolded term included in the expanded glossary. Math formulas are highlighted in special shaded boxes for quick reference. Penguin icons in shaded boxes represent important facts or bits of information that must be learned to understand the subject. End-of-chapter questions help students review the material with definition exercises, short-answer questions, and calculations. Student workbook reinforces understanding with worksheets that complement the content covered in the text. Available separately. NEW! Updated content reflects the newest curriculum standards outlined by the ARRT® and ASRT. NEW! All images are digital, following current radiology practice. NEW! Updated radiation protection standards and units of measurement are incorporated throughout the text. NEW! Streamlined physics and math sections focus on the essential content to ensure student technologists are prepared to take the ARRT® exam and have the background needed to perform well in the clinical environment. NEW! Increased alignment of chapter objectives with the ASRT core curriculum helps students focus on need-to-know content in preparation for the Registry exam and for clinical success.
Call Number: R895 .B86 2021 (Main Campus Library)
ISBN: 9780323661348
Publication Date: 2020-12-30
Merrill's Pocket Guide to Radiography by 
Radiologic Science for Technologists by
Develop the skills you need to produce diagnostic-quality medical images! Radiologic Science for Technologists: Physics, Biology, and Protection, 12th Edition provides a solid foundation in the concepts of medical imaging and digital radiography. Featuring hundreds of radiographs and illustrations, this comprehensive text helps you make informed decisions regarding technical factors, image quality, and radiation safety for both patients and providers. New to this edition are all-digital images and the latest radiation protection standards and units of measurement. Written by noted educator Stewart Carlyle Bushong, this text will prepare you for success on the ARRT® certification exam and in imaging practice. Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Broad coverage of radiologic science topics includes radiologic physics, imaging, radiobiology, and radiation protection, with special topics including mammography, fluoroscopy, spiral computed tomography, and cardiovascular interventional procedures. Objectives, outlines, chapter introductions, and summaries organize information and emphasize the most important concepts in every chapter. Formulas, conversion tables, and abbreviations provide a quick reference for frequently used information, and math equations are always followed by sample problems with direct clinical application. Key terms are bolded and defined at first mention in the text, with each bolded term included in the expanded glossary. Math formulas are highlighted in special shaded boxes for quick reference. Penguin icons in shaded boxes represent important facts or bits of information that must be learned to understand the subject. End-of-chapter questions help students review the material with definition exercises, short-answer questions, and calculations. Student workbook reinforces understanding with worksheets that complement the content covered in the text. Available separately. NEW! Updated content reflects the newest curriculum standards outlined by the ARRT® and ASRT. NEW! All images are digital, following current radiology practice. NEW! Updated radiation protection standards and units of measurement are incorporated throughout the text. NEW! Streamlined physics and math sections focus on the essential content to ensure student technologists are prepared to take the ARRT® exam and have the background needed to perform well in the clinical environment. NEW! Increased alignment of chapter objectives with the ASRT core curriculum helps students focus on need-to-know content in preparation for the Registry exam and for clinical success.
Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care by
Using a clear and concise format, Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care, 8th Edition familiarizes you with the imaging sciences and covers the patient care skills necessary for clinical practice. It offers current, comprehensive content that meets the relevant standards set by the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) Curriculum Guide and the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) Task List for certification examinations. This edition includes updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation, providing the essential information and tools you need to master any introduction to radiologic sciences or patient care class. Chapter review questions and lab activities, available online and on tear sheets in the text, give you easy access to study materials for on-the-go learning. In addition to helping you prepare for certification, the content provides useful and practical information that is essential for professional practice and clinical competency. Expanded and updated career content addresses professional development and advancement. Patient care content includes information on biomechanics and ergonomics of the radiologic and imaging sciences professional. Information management coverage provides an overview of health informatics for the radiologic and imaging sciences professional. Step-by-step procedures presented in boxed lists throughout the text supply you with easy-to-follow steps for clinical success. Back-of-book review questions and questions to ponder provide opportunities for further review and greater challenge. More than 300 photos and line drawings help you understand and visualize patient-care procedures. Strong pedagogy, including chapter objectives, key terms, outlines, and summaries organize information and ensure you understand what is most important in every chapter. NEW! Comprehensive coverage encompasses the greater breadth and depth of all primary modalities of the radiologic and imaging sciences as they relate to patient care.
FIND US ON