Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology by 
Exercises for Voice Therapy by 
Interventions for Speech Sound Disorders in Children by 
Introduction to Clinical Methods in Communication Disorders by 
Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence by 
Neuroanatomy and Neurophysiology for Speech and Hearing Sciences by 
Neuroanatomy for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (2nd ed.) by 
Preparation for the Praxis in Speech-Language Pathology by 
Professional Issues in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by 
Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology, Sixth Edition by 
Voice and Communication Therapy for the Transgender - Gender Diverse Client by Voice Disorders (4th ed.) by 
Articulation and Phonology in Speech Sound Disorders by
Help students bridge the gap between the theoretical issues in speech-language pathology and their clinical application Articulation and Phonology in Speech Sounds Disorders illustrates what works in practice and explains why it works. Every chapter focuses on suggestions for clinical practice as well as clinical examples and clinical applications. This approach will assist the reader in developing an understanding of how basic concepts and theoretical knowledge form the core for clinical decision making in the assessment and remediation of speech disorders. The 6th Edition continues to help readers link academic foundations with clinical application. It incorporates the American Speech-Language Hearing Association's position statements, definitions, and practice policies to aid students as they transition into competent clinicians. Also included is an overview of anatomy and physiology; a new section on the principles of motor learning; more user-friendly phonetic descriptors; the Dodd (2013) diagnostic classification system of speech sound disorders; updated diagnostic protocols; and new clinical exercises.
Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology by
"This thoroughly updated sixth edition of the best-selling text Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology remains an invaluable resource for instructors, students, and clinicians. The book covers the diagnosis, evaluation, and treatment of a wide range of communication disorders in adults and children. This one-of-a-kind manual provides a comprehensive package of reference materials, explanations of assessment procedures, practical stimulus suggestions, and hands-on worksheets and screening forms. The highly practical resource is separated into four easy-to-navigate sections: Part I highlights preparatory considerations; Part II includes procedures and materials for obtaining, interpreting, and reporting assessment information; Part III provides materials and suggestions for assessing communicative disorders. Part IV presents a quick-reference section, providing information on hearing considerations, medical diagnoses, and caregiver handouts"--
Essentials of Communication Sciences and Disorders (3rd ed.) by
Fully revised and updated, Essentials of Communication Sciences and Disorders, Third Edition is an accessible and engaging introductory resource for students new to communication sciences and disorders. This text covers foundational information about speech disorders in both children and adults, while numerous case scenarios and personal stories paint a vivid picture of speech-language pathology. A robust, full color art program illustrates key concepts with detailed anatomical images, photos, and helpful charts and tables. Additionally, this text addresses multicultural issues as well as the emotional and social effects of each disorder on the individual and family, providing students with a comprehensive overview of the profession.Every new print copy includes Navigate Advantage Access that unlocks a complete, interactive eBook, videos of most disorders, PowerPoint slides, and more!New section on Cultural Competence and the diversity in professional and client interactionsNew sections on Interviewing and Therapy Microskills, Orofacial Myofunctional Disorders, Neurodiversity, Transgender Voice therapy, Communication Partner training, and moreNew video footage illustrating almost all disorders, including assessment and therapyInsight Questions throughout the text encourage students to consider how they might relate to the information presented to their personal lives or in ways they had not expectedStudy Questions are provided at the end of each chapter to help students demonstrate their learningWritten for an international market by including journals written by researchers from Canada, United Kingdom, Israel, Argentina, China, Italy, and more
Fundamentals of Audiology for the Speech-Language Pathologist by
Fundamentals of Audiology for the Speech-Language Pathologist, Third Edition is specifically written to provide the speech language pathologist with a knowledge base to work with individuals who are hard of hearing, deaf and diagnosed with (central) auditory processing disorder. Serving as a guide to the management of hearing loss, this unique resource presents basic audiological concepts in a clear, concise, easy to understand format, eliminating extensive technical jargon. This comprehensive text covers various types and degrees of hearing loss and the resulting auditory, speech, and language difficulties. Moving away from an exclusively diagnostic format of audiology practices, this text also focuses on the rehabilitative aspects of hearing loss and empowering students to collaborate with audiologists throughout their career.Unlike other texts, Fundamentals of Audiology for the Speech-Language Pathologist, Third Edition presents detailed information on all audiometric testing procedures and how to read and interpret audiometric results. The text covers programmatic planning from early intervention through geriatrics while also providing a thorough review of normal hearing development from birth through eight years of age. Each chapter of the text is organized into these helpful sections: What You Need to Know, How it Works, Technically Speaking, Methodologies. This approach breaks down each concept in a way that facilitates student comprehension and retention.Every new print copy includes Navigate Advantage Access that unlocks a complete, interactive eBook, videos and animations, resource tool kit, flashcards, and more!New chapter providing an overview of listening and spoken language therapy certification and trainingIncludes examples of aural rehabilitation goalsProvides guidance on how to counsel patients and their families regarding the impact of hearing lossChecklists and patient questionnaires that benefit students once in practiceProvides the latest information about the constantly evolving world of hearing assistance technology, including progress made in hearing aids and cochlear implants
Fundamentals of Phonetics by
Fundamentals of Phonetics uses in-text exercises and supplemental audio recordings (available in the Pearson eText) to teach the practical skills necessary to successfully perform phonetic transcription of individuals using the International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA). Students learn about the transcription of consonants and vowels, connected speech, and individuals with speech sound disorders. A chapter on speech acoustics introduces spectrograms and the acoustic characteristics of speech sounds. Students also learn how to transcribe individuals who display regional and ethnic dialectal variation of speech, including those who have learned to speak English as a second language. The 5th Edition is updated with current census data, new material on key concepts in phonetic transcription, and a new section on the application of speech acoustics in clinical practice. Pedagogical aids -- including new chapter summaries, learning objectives, exercises, and artwork -- help students learn, process, and practice the material.
Goal Writing for the Speech-Language Pathologist and Special Educator: Bridging the Gap Between Assessment and Intervention by
Goal Writing for the Speech-Language Pathologist and Special Educator is a practical guide on how to 'bridge the gap' between the ability to assess, interpret, and analyze assessment information in order to derive functional goals for intervention. Contributed by experts in the field, this resource is appropriate for both novice and experienced clinicians in the field of Speech-Language Pathology and Special Education, as well as students learning to develop and write functional goals for different disorders and populations. Case scenarios available with each chapter provide real-world context for how to develop goals from the assessment process.Unit A Writing Goals: The BasicsChapter 1 The Elements of Goal WritingChapter 2 Historical Perspective of Goal Writing and Contemporary PracticeUnit B Writing Goals in Speech-Language Pathology, Aural Rehabilitation(AR)/Habilitation, and Special EducationChapter 3 Language Disorders in ChildrenChapter 4 Speech Disorders in ChildrenChapter 5 Pediatric Feeding and Swallowing DisordersChapter 6 Adult DysphagiaChapter 7 Adult Neurogenic Communication DisordersChapter 8 Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC)Chapter 9 Aural Rehabilitation (AR)/ HabilitationChapter 10 Fluency DisordersChapter 11 Voice DisordersChapter 12 Reading Disabilities: Skill Development throughAssessment, Goals, and Strategic InstructionChapter 13 Writing DisordersChapter 14 Math Disabilities: Skill Development throughAssessment, Goals, and Strategic Instruction
A Guide to School Services in Speech-Language Pathology by
"A Guide to School Services in Speech-Language Pathology, Fourth Edition serves as a comprehensive textbook for school-based speech-language pathology (SLP) courses and college students who are ready to embark on their student teaching experiences. With its summaries of cutting-edge research, evidence-based clinical approaches, workload solutions, and strategies for professionalism, the book is also a useful resource for practicing, school-based SLPs. The text begins by providing a brief history of school-based SLP services. It highlights the legal mandates set forth in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act; provides a review of the No Child Left Behind Act; offers new information about the Every Student Succeeds Act and the Americans with Disabilities Act; and summarizes court cases that have influenced and shaped school services. Then, the text delves into a description of service delivery models; provides valuable information about a workload analysis approach to caseload standards in schools; offers examples of how to write IEPs that reflect workload solutions; shares examples of implementation strategies; and offers concrete, real-life workload success stories. In addition, this text provides practical strategies for using evidence-based practice, proactive behavior management, conflict resolution, professional collaboration, conferencing and counseling skills, cultural competencies, goal writing, informal assessment procedures, and testing accommodations, including methods for conducting assessments for dual language learners. The final chapter provides the evidence base for links between language, literacy, and the achievement of school standards. This chapter is a must-read for every school SLP"--
Handbook for Evidence-Based Practice in Communication Disorders by
With this landmark textbook, speech-language pathologists will learn to apply current best evidence as they make critical decisions about the care of each individual they serve. The first text that covers this cutting-edge topic for the communication disorders field, this book introduces SLPs to the principles and process of evidence-based practice, thoroughly covering its three primary components: "external" evidence from systematic research, "internal" evidence from clinical practice, and evidence concerning patient preferences. SLPs will get the in-depth guidance they need to construct the right questions about best evidence find the reliable information they need to answer these questions evaluate the validity of both internal and external evidence weigh the importance of empirical evidence, whether from a research study or from an individual patient help patients fully understand clinical options and express their preferences conduct systematic, critical appraisals of treatment evidence, diagnosis and screening evidence, and evidence from systematic reviews or meta-analyses Developed by Christine A. Dollaghan, one of the most highly respected researchers in the field of language acquisition and disorders, this text makes complex concepts understandable with its clear, reader-friendly language, vivid step-by-step examples of key processes, and illuminating figures and tables. SLPs will come away with a solid, practical understanding of evidence-based practice--knowledge they'll use throughout their careers to make sound clinical decisions about the screening, diagnosis, and treatment of communication disorders.
Introduction to Audiology Today by
Introduction to Audiology Today is a contemporary and clinically oriented review of information traditionally found in an introductory audiology book used by undergraduate students. An up-to-date introduction to the profession of audiology, Introduction to Audiology Today is written to stimulate the student's interest and excitement in audiology or speech-language pathology as a career choice. Chapters on hearing science covering essential information about sound and auditory anatomy/physiology include helpful figures and readable explanations of recent research findings. Current behavioral and objective procedures and strategies for hearing assessment of children and adults are described and consistently related to clinical audiology practice. Two chapters are devoted to a readable and up-to-date review of the diverse etiologies underlying peripheral and central auditory dysfunction, including auditory neuropathy spectrum disorder and auditory processing disorders. The text is enhanced with an assortment of high quality digital photographs illustrating the tools and technologies used by audiologists in clinical practice.
Language Development from Theory to Practice by
Note: This is the bound book only and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with a bound book, use ISBN 0134412087. Language Development From Theory to Practice provides a survey of key topics in language development, including research methods, theoretical perspectives, and major language milestones from birth to adolescence and beyond, and language diversity and language disorders. Each chapter bridges language development theory and practice by providing students with a theoretical and scientific foundation to the study of language development. The authors emphasize the relevance of the material to students' current and future experiences in clinical, educational, and research settings; emphasize multicultural considerations and how they affect language development; focus on using evidence-based practices for making educational and clinical decisions; show the relevance of a multidisciplinary perspective on the theory and practice of language development; and include a number of outstanding pedagogical features to motivate and engage students. The new edition builds on the strengths of the earlier editions while featuring a chapter reorganization that promotes better understanding, more detailed coverage of topics of particular interest to students, expanded categorization of language-development theories, and a variety of helpful new pedagogical features. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded videos and assessments. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad® and Android® tablet.* Affordable. The Enhanced Pearson eText may be purchased stand-alone for 50-60% less than a print bound book. *The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.
Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence by
Spanning the entire childhood developmental period, Language Disorders from Infancy Through Adolescence, 5th Edition is the go-to text for learning how to properly assess childhood language disorders and provide appropriate treatment. The most comprehensive title available on childhood language disorders, it uses a descriptive-developmental approach to present basic concepts and vocabulary, an overview of key issues and controversies, the scope of communicative difficulties that make up child language disorders, and information on how language pathologists approach the assessment and intervention processes. This new edition also features significant updates in research, trends, social skills assessment, and instruction best practices. Clinical application focus featuring case studies, clinical vignettes, and suggested projects helps you apply concepts to professional practice. UNIQUE! Practice exercises with sample transcripts allow you to apply different methods of analysis. UNIQUE! Helpful study guides at the end of each chapter help you review and apply what you have learned. Highly regarded lead author who is an expert in language disorders in children provides authoritative guidance on the diagnosis and management of pediatric language disorders. More than 230 tables and boxes summarize important information such as dialogue examples, sample assessment plans, assessment and intervention principles, activities, and sample transcripts. Student/Professional Resources on Evolve include an image bank, video clips, and references linked to PubMed. NEW! Common core standards for language arts incorporated into the preschool and school-age chapters. NEW! Updated content features the latest research, theories, trends and techniques in the field. Information on preparing high-functioning students with autism for college Social skills training for students with autism The role of the speech-language pathologist on school literacy teams and in response to intervention Emerging theories of etiology and psychopathology added to Models of Child Language Disorders chapter Use of emerging technologies for assessment and intervention
Laryngeal Cancer by
Laryngeal cancer is a complex medical condition, and its treatments, both surgical and nonsurgical, typically affect a variety of life functions. These complex consequences of laryngeal cancer necessitate that many different medical specialties work together as a cohesive, collaborative care team to support patients and their caregivers/families. Despite the interdisciplinary treatment that laryngeal cancer requires, many resources offer the perspective of only one specific profession. Laryngeal Cancer: An Interdisciplinary Resource for Practitioners caters to the team approach that is needed to provide patients with evidence-based treatment and maximize outcomes. To fill this need for an interdisciplinary text, Drs. Jennifer Campion Friberg and Lisa Vinney bring together a wide range of medical professionals to represent their unique perspectives on the treatment of patients with laryngeal cancer. Each chapter addresses a different critical aspect of the interdisciplinary care and how they impact the other aspects, written by experts in each field. Sample Chapters Include: Medical and Surgical Diagnosis Airway and Respiratory Challenges Nutrition and Swallowing Challenges Psychosocial Care of the Patient Bonus! A supplemental website is available for healthcare providers to share with their laryngeal cancer patients and their caregivers/families. This resource provides critical information about all aspects of their care and treatment, presented in a simple, digestible way for the layperson to understand. When the whole team of health care professionals involved in laryngeal cancer management understands the big picture of care, they can tailor individual treatment priorities to the needs of each unique patient and maximize quality of life. Because of this, Laryngeal Cancer: An Interdisciplinary Resource for Practitioners is designed to be a comprehensive guide for any professional involved in the many facets of interdisciplinary care for patients with laryngeal cancer.
Neuroscience for the Study of Communicative Disorders by
Develop an understanding of neuroscience as it relates to your future career as a clinician, researcher, or instructor with this revised best-seller. The 5th Edition provides an easy-to-understand, meaningful overview of the basics of essential neuroscience concepts enhanced by case studies that connect neuroscience to the disorders you'll see in practice. Features eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. NEW! The complexity of neuroscience has been simplified in every chapter, making it easier for you to master key neurological concepts. NEW! Expanded Clinical Correlates sections include more treatment examples and mental function cases, as well as applied Clinical Relevance boxes. NEW! Additional chapter-ending, problem-solving case studies deepen your understanding and help you hone your critical thinking skills. A consistent, step-by-step structure beginning in Chapter 4 supports learning through learning objectives, chapter introductions, anatomy and terminology by structure, clinical concerns with neurologic concepts including pathology, and a clinical application . Charts, graphs, diagrams, illustrations, brain mapping pictures, and MR and CT images (both normal and with pathologies) help you prepare for your future role as an SLP therapist or audiologist. Chapter-ending learning aids include summaries and review questions (with answers at the end of the book). An end-of-book glossary helps you master the vocabulary of neuroscience. Interactive, online study tools, including animations, video clips, labeling exercises, a digital Student Workbook, and more, help you master the content you need to succeed in your course and future career.
School-Age Language Intervention by 
Speech and Voice Science by
Speech and Voice Science, Fourth Edition is the only textbook to provide comprehensive and detailed information on both voice source and vocal tract contributions to speech production. In addition, it is the only textbook to address dialectical and nonnative language differences in vowel and consonant production, bias in perception of speaker identity, and prosody (suprasegmental features) in detail. With the new edition, clinical application is integrated throughout the text. Due to its highly readable writing style being user-friendly for all levels of students, instructors report using this book for a wide variety of courses, including undergraduate and graduate courses in acoustic phonetics, speech science, instrumentation, and voice disorders. Heavily revised and updated, this fourth edition offers multiple new resources for instructors and students to enhance classroom learning and active student participation. At the same time, this text provides flexibility to allow instructors to construct a classroom learning experience that best suits their course objectives. Speech and Voice Science now has an accompanying workbook for students by Alison Behrman and Donald Finan!New to the Fourth EditionSixteen new illustrations and nineteen revised illustrations, many now in colorNew coverage of topics related to diversity, including: Dialectical and nonnative language differences in vowel and consonant production and what makes all of us have an "accent" (Chapter 7--Vowels and Chapter 8--Consonants)How suprasegmental features are shaped by dialect and accent (Chapter 9--Prosody)Perception of speaker identity, including race/ethnicity, gender, and accent (Chapter 11- Speech Perception)Increased focus on clinical application throughout each chapter, including three new sectionsUpdated Chapter 4 (Breathing) includes enhanced discussion of speech breathing and new accompanying illustrations.Updated Chapter 10 (Theories of Speech Production) now includes the DIVA Model, motor learning theory, and clinical applicationsUpdated Chapter 11 (Speech Perception) now includes revised Motor Learning theory, Mirror Neurons, and clinical applicationsExpanded guide for students on best practices for studying in Chapter 1(Introduction)Key FeaturesA two-color interior to provide increased readabilityHeavily illustrated, including color figures, to enhance information provided in the textForty-nine spectrogram figures provide increased clarity of key acoustic features of vowels and consonantsFourteen clinical cases throughout the book to help students apply speech science principles to clinical practiceThe text comes with access to a PluralPlus companion website with many supplementary student study aids and teaching materials. The site includes the following: For students: Study aids such as flashcards and review questions for each chapterA speech science game for a lighthearted way to help studyThe spectograms from chapters 7, 8 and 9 of the print book allowing students to zoom in and examine specific acoustic features.For instructors: Revised and updated slides for traditional classroomClassroom learning activities, many focused on group work and discussion, to provide more effective learning experiences for both undergraduate and graduate studentsEleven laboratory assignments, using free, downloadable acoustic analysis software, to help students learn difficult concepts through experiential learning
Stuttering by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! This updated edition of the most comprehensive, pedagogically sound textbook in the field provides an overview of stuttering's etiology and development, details the latest approaches to accurate assessment and treatment, and provides new case studies and online videos that illustrate different levels and ways of treating stuttering. Exploring a variety of practice settings, the book covers evidence-based practice, counseling, IEPs, and assistive devices and has been thoroughly updated to address all current methodologies. NEW! The latest findings in genetics, epigenetics, brain imaging, sensory-motor control, language, and emotion provides students with an up-to-date view of stuttering. NEW CHAPTER! A new chapter on Learning explains how stuttering develops, covers the key elements of treatment at different ages, and details the effects of classical, operant, and avoidance conditioning. NEW! The author's theoretical perspective is expanded and connected to rationales for treatment. NEW! Expanded coverage includes multicultural considerations in assessment and the latest treatment procedures for working with school-age, adolescent, and adult clients. NEW! Additional online videos of children and adults illustrate evaluation and treatment procedures. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Teaching Communication Skills to Students with Severe Disabilities by
How can educators and therapists support effective communication for students with severe and multiple disabilities? Today's best research strategies are in the new third edition of this trusted textbook and teaching guide. Current and future education professionals will get up-to-date information and practical guidance on the entire process of supporting communication for students of all ages, from assessing their communication skills to involving peers and adults in intervention. An important textbook and professional reference, this comprehensive volume will help educators, paraprofessionals, SLPs, and other school staff skillfully support every student's right to communicate. The topics covered include: communication assessement, intervention strategies, identification of natural opportunities to teach skills, augmentative and alternative communication techniques, collaborative learning, challenging behavouir, Funcitonal Communication Training, literacy instruction, and peers as communication partners. The new edition has more emphasis on technology, a new chapter on the relationship between communication and challenging behaviour; a new chapter on communication and literacy; more on making AAC devices accessible and attainable; new case examples to show strategies and interventions in action; and more.
FIND US ON