While subject-specific databases and open web resources are great places to look for resources, the library's QuickSearch is another place that you can start.
When you use QuickSearch, you are searching across most of the SHU Library's databases and other resources all at once. QuickSearch can be a good option when you are not sure which particular databases may have a lot of material on your research topic. It's also helpful if your research topic is very specific and only produces a few relevant results per individual database. It is also useful for helping estimate the amount of scholarly resources that potentially available on a topic.
Watch the video below to learn how to find journal articles in QuickSearch.
In this short video, you will learn how to quickly find articles, including peer reviewed articles, in QuickSearch.
In this short video, you will learn how to quickly find articles in QuickSearch.
QuickSearch is a powerful tool that allows you to search most of Sacred Heart University Library’s resources from one single search box. It provides seamless access to the SHU Library catalog, Digital Commons @SHU, and most of our article databases, including Academic Search Premier, CINAHL Complete, and Business Source Premier. For a full list of the resources being searched, click on the “What am I searching?” link in the QuickSearch box on the library homepage.
To begin, simply type your search terms into the QuickSearch box on the library’s homepage and click Search.
This will bring you to the results page. It is important to remember that QuickSearch will retrieve results in a wide variety of formats, including journal articles, books, DVDs, streaming videos, and more.
If you are just looking for journal articles, you can use the options along the left-side of the page to narrow down your results. Click the “Academic Journals” checkbox under “Limit by Source Type” to view just academic journal article results.
Sometimes you will need to use peer-reviewed articles for your research. To see just the peer-reviewed articles in the results, keep the “Academic Journals” limiter on and click on the “Peer Reviewed” checkbox under the Limit To section. Now all your results are peer-reviewed, academic journal articles.
Many of these results will have links directly to the PDF or links to the full text in specific database.
However, some results might not have the full text readily available. In these cases, click the Full Text Finder link, which will check for the full text in all our resources.
If it finds full text access somewhere, it will take you directly to the full text or to a journal page where you can browse to the article. If it does not find it, you can follow the "Request Item” link to our Interlibrary Loan service so we can try to get the article from another library at no cost to you.
For further assistance with QuickSearch or any other questions, feel free to contact us at the library!
What are the main differences between searching QuickSearch and searching in specific databases?
As mentioned above, QuickSearch’s main advantage is that it allows you to search most of the library’s resources (like MEDLINE, CINAHL, the library’s eBooks, etc.) all at once. However, it does not search all of the library's resources. Several resource collections and databases are excluded from the search, including the following major health science resources:
Also, because it searches across so many subjects, QuickSearch only has general limiting options that do not extend far beyond source type, language, peer-reviewed, or publication date. Meanwhile, as mentioned in the SHU Library Databases Tutorial, individual databases like MEDLINE provide far more specialized limiting options that you may find useful.
It is up to you how you want to explore the library's resources. Most students end up using a combination of the QuickSearch and searching the databases individually.