Acute Care Handbook for Physical Therapists by 
Acute Care Physical Therapy by 
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by 
Cancer Rehabilitation by 
Comparative Kinesiology of the Human Body by 
Delivering Health Care in America (7th ed.) by 
Delivering Health Care in America (8th ed.) by 
Foundations of Clinical Research by 
Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice by 
Management Principles for Health Professionals by 
Neurologic Interventions for Physical Therapy by 
Observational Gait Analysis by 
Orthotics and Prosthetics in Rehabilitation by 
Physical Rehabilitation (7th ed.) by 
Primary Care for the Physical Therapist by 
Quick Reference Neuroscience for Rehabilitation Professionals by 
Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment (3rd ed.) by 
ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription by
Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase of the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials. The flagship title from the prestigious American College of Sports Medicine, this critical handbook delivers scientifically based, evidence-informed standards to prepare you for success. Providing succinct summaries of recommended procedures for exercise testing and exercise prescription in healthy and diseased patients, this trusted manual is an essential resource for all exercise professionals, as well as other health professionals who may counsel patients on exercise including physicians, nurses, physician assistants, physical and occupational therapists, dieticians, and health care administrators. The extensively updated eleventh edition has been reorganized for greater clarity and integrates the latest Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans. UPDATED! Integrated guidelines, including the 2018 Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans, reflect the most current, clinically sound approaches to exercise testing and prescription. NEW! Chapter on conditions that affect the brain familiarizes students with specific strategies for the treatment of Parkinson's disease, Alzheimer's disease, autism, depression and anxiety. UPDATED! Enhanced organization helps students find information quickly and easily. FITT (Frequency, Intensity, Time, Type) boxes make locating critical exercise prescription information quick and easy. Revised appendices integrate valuable information on ECGs, medication and emergency management where it is most relevant. A new appendix on metabolic equations is included. Additional boxes, tables, and figures highlight important concepts and approaches at a glance. Lippincott® Connect features: Full access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
Campbell's Physical Therapy for Children (5th ed.) by
Get all the pediatric physical therapy background and guidance you need with Campbell''s Physical Therapy for Children Expert Consult, 5th Edition. Insightful and comprehensive coverage walks you through all aspects of working with children, including: decision making, screening, development, motor control and motor learning, the impairments of body function and structure, and the PT management of pediatric disorders. Like the previous bestselling editions, this edition also follows the practice pattern categories of the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice and uses the IFC model of the disabling process as it presents up-to-date, evidence-based coverage of treatment. New to this edition are a number of added and extensively revised chapters - covering topics such as tests and measures, autism spectrum disorder, pediatric oncology, and the neonatal intensive care unit - to keep you at the cutting edge of the latest issues and best-practices. Finally, with it''s wealth of online resources and learning aids, you''ll have all the tools and support you need to tackle every aspect of pediatric physical therapy! Focus on the International Classification of Function, Disability, and Health (ICF) of the World Health Organization (WHO) emphasizes activity rather than functional limitations and participation rather than disability. Incorporation of practice pattern guidelines from the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, 2nd Edition sets the standard for physical therapy practice. Comprehensive reference offers a thorough understanding of all aspects of pediatric physical therapy, including: decision making, screening, development, motor control, and motor learning, the impairments of body function and structure, and the PT management of pediatric disorders. Expert authorship and editors lend their experience and guidance for on-the-job success. Variety of user resources to enhance study include review questions, critical questions, and additional resources and activities. Questions and exercises offer great preparation for the APTA''s Pediatric Specialist Certification Examination. NEW! Revised chapter on motor development and control now closely examines the when, how, why, and what of developing motor skill and how it contributes to effective physical therapy. NEW! Chapter on children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) covers the characteristics of ASD, the diagnostic process, program planning, and evidence-based decision making for children with ASD. NEW! Chapter on pediatric oncology addresses the signs and symptoms of pediatric cancers, the most common medical interventions used to treat these diseases, the PT examination, and common therapeutic interventions. NEW! Chapter on tests and measures offers guidance on how to effectively use tests and measures in pediatric physical therapy practice. NEW! Extensively revised chapter asthma offers more detail on the pathology of asthma; the primary and secondary impairments of asthma; the impact on a child''s long term health and development; pharmacological management; and more. NEW! Revised chapter on the neonatal intensive care unite better addresses the role of the physical therapist in the neonatal intensive care unit. UPDATED! Full color photos and line drawings clearly demonstrate important concepts and clinical conditions that will be encountered in practice. NEW! Expert Consult platform provides a number of enhancements, including a fully searchable version of the book, case studies, videos, and more. NEW! Revised organization now includes background information - such as pathology, pathophysiology, etiology, prognosis and natural evolution, and medical and pharmacologic management - as well as foreground information - such as evidence-based recommendations on physical therapy examination strategies, optimal tests and measurement, interventions, patient/caregiver instruction, and more. NEW! Additional case studies and videos illustrate how concepts apply to practice.
Campbell's Physical Therapy for Children (6th ed.) by
Gain a solid foundation in physical therapy for infants, children, and adolescents! Campbell's Physical Therapy for Children, 6th Edition provides essential information on pediatric physical therapy practice, management of children with musculoskeletal, neurological, and cardiopulmonary conditions, and special practice settings. Following the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, this text describes how to examine and evaluate children, select evidence-based interventions, and measure outcomes to help children improve their body functions, activities, and participation. What also sets this book apart is its emphasis on clinical reasoning, decision making, and family-centered care. Written by a team of PT experts led by Robert J. Palisano, this book is ideal for use by students and by clinicians in daily practice. Comprehensive coverage provides a thorough understanding of foundational knowledge for pediatric physical therapy, including social determinants of health, development, motor control, and motor learning, as well as physical therapy management of pediatric disorders, including examination, evaluation, goal setting, the plan of care, and outcomes evaluation. Focus on the elements of patient/client management in the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice provides a framework for clinical decision making. Focus on the International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health (ICF) of the World Health Organization (WHO) provides a standard language and framework for the description of health and health-related states, including levels of a person's capacity and performance. Experienced, expert contributors help you prepare to become a Board-Certified Pediatric Clinical Specialist and to succeed on the job. NEW! New chapter on social determinants of health and pediatric healthcare is added to this edition. NEW! New chapter on Down syndrome is added. NEW! 45 case scenarios in the ebook offer practice with clinical reasoning and decision making, and 123 video clips depict children's movements, examination procedures, and physical therapy interventions. NEW! An ebook version is included with print purchase, providing access to all the text, figures, and references, plus the ability to search, customize content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physical Therapy, Third Edition by
A comprehensive, up-to-date textbook spanning the entire scope of cardiovascular and pulmonary practice A Doody's Core Title for 2022! Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physical Therapy, Third Edition reflects the broadest possible spectrum of cardiovascular and pulmonary practice and draws upon the expertise of a carefully selected team of world-renowned contributors. This internationally acclaimed text reviews must-know background knowledge, thoroughly explains exercise principles, cites the best evidence, and integrates the American Physical Therapy Association's approved practice patterns into the chapter content. Learn how to apply principles to practice in any setting with: The Guide to Physical Therapy Practice integrated throughout, with an entire chapter devoted to its history and use Preferred practice patterns for cardiovascular and pulmonary physical therapy form the core of eight chapters are used as springboards to describe interventions and outcomes Case studies in practice pattern chapters allow you to experience the proper application of the practice patterns The patient-client management model is used in the case studies with appropriate test, measures, and interventions selected from the practice patterns and applied to the patient "International Perspectives" provide a way to gain insight into the global practice of physical therapy Evidence-based and peer reviewed published material is included to help you develop specific intervention regimens Online access to case-based exercises, video clips illustrating technical psychomotor skills, and demonstrations of cardiac and pulmonary physical exams
Documentation for Rehabilitation by
Better patient management starts with better documentation! Documentation for Rehabilitation: A Guide to Clinical Decision Making in Physical Therapy, 3rd Edition shows how to accurately document treatment progress and patient outcomes. Designed for use by rehabilitation professionals, documentation guidelines are easily adaptable to different practice settings and patient populations. Realistic examples and practice exercises reinforce concepts and encourage you to apply what you've learned. Written by expert physical therapy educators Lori Quinn and James Gordon, this book will improve your skills in both documentation and clinical reasoning. A practical framework shows how to organize and structure PT records, making it easier to document functional outcomes in many practice settings, and is based on the International Classification for Functioning, Disability, and Health (ICF) model - the one adopted by the APTA. Coverage of practice settings includes documentation examples in acute care, rehabilitation, outpatient, home care, and nursing homes, as well as a separate chapter on documentation in pediatric settings. Guidelines to systematic documentation describe how to identify, record, measure, and evaluate treatment and therapies - especially important when insurance companies require evidence of functional progress in order to provide reimbursement. Workbook/textbook format uses examples and exercises in each chapter to reinforce your understanding of concepts. NEW Standardized Outcome Measures chapter leads to better care and patient management by helping you select the right outcome measures for use in evaluations, re-evaluations, and discharge summaries. UPDATED content is based on data from current research, federal policies and APTA guidelines, including incorporation of new terminology from the Guide to Physical Therapist 3.0 and ICD-10 coding. EXPANDED number of case examples covers an even broader range of clinical practice areas.
Dutton's Orthopaedic by
The #1 orthopaedic evidence-based textbook and reference guide A Doody's Core Title for 2022! Dutton's Orthopaedic: Examination, Evaluation and Intervention provides readers with a systematic logical approach to the examination and intervention of the orthopedic patient. This comprehensive and up-to-date fifth edition strikes the perfect balance in its coverage of the continuum of care of an orthopaedic patient. The content emphasizes the appropriate use of manual techniques and therapeutic exercise while outlining the correct applications of multiple adjuncts to the rehabilitative process. The content reflects the consistent unified voice of a single author-a prominent practicing therapist who delivers step-by-step guidance on the anatomy, biomechanics, examination, and treatment of each joint and region. This in-depth coverage leads you logically through the systems review and differential diagnosis aided by decision-making algorithms and features new coverage on balance, pain assessment, and concussions. New videos on testing and method techniques are available on AccessPT. This edition has an added 10-15 case studies as well as updated chapters to reflect the latest research and treatment techniques.
Dutton's Orthopaedic: Examination, Evaluation and Intervention, Sixth Edition by
The #1 most trusted evidence-based text in orthopedic physical therapy, which strikes the perfect balance in its coverage of examination and treatment The definitive text for orthopedic students, Dutton's Orthopedic: Examination, Evaluation and Intervention delivers a logical, systematic approach to hands-on orthopedic treatment. This new edition offers the perfect balance in its coverage of the continuum of care, emphasizing the appropriate use of manual techniques and therapeutic exercise while outlining the correct applications of multiple adjuncts to the rehabilitative process. Aided by decision-making algorithms, this comprehensive guide covers anatomy, biomechanics, examination, and treatment of each joint and region and features. Features 400 photos illustrate orthopedic techniques NEW videos on testing and method techniques available on AccessPT NEW information on balance, pain assessment, gait, and concussions NEW presentation of videos on AccessPhysiotherapy, as video content is integrated directly within the paragraph and sentence structure, so readers don't have to jump from the textbook to the videos. Now readers can access both videos and text with one simple click at the "sentence level." The consistent voice of a single author makes this book engaging to read and easy to follow Guides you through the systems review and differential diagnosis Incorporates the APTA Practice Patterns to address certain dysfunctions
Essentials of Cardiopulmonary Physical Therapy by
Improve your understanding of the cardiopulmonary system with Essentials of Cardiopulmonary Physical Therapy, 5th Edition. Based on American Physical Therapy Association best practices, this new edition provides comprehensive coverage of anatomy, physiology, and cardiopulmonary assessment, along with new chapters on the growing topics of the management of cardiovascular disease in women and pulmonary vascular disease. Using a practical approach, expert author Ellen Hillegass also discusses pathophysiology, pharmacology, and interventions in the outpatient setting. Evidence-based content reflects the latest research in the field and incorporates the use of ICF. Material uses best practices defined by the American Physical Therapy Association. Clinical tips provide real-world hints and suggestions from practicing clinicians. UPDATED! Content and references throughout present the most current and relevant information for today's clinical practice. NEW! Two additional chapters on Management of Cardiovascular Disease in Women and Pulmonary Vascular Disease provide comprehensive coverage of these key topics. NEW! Enhanced ebook version of the text - included with print purchase - offers access to all of the text, figures, and references from the book, as well as additional case studies and a glossary, on a variety of digital devices.
Goodman and Fuller's Pathology by
The only pathology textbook written specifically for physical therapy, this edition continues to provide practical and easy access to information on specific diseases and conditions as they relate to physical therapy practice. Coverage includes guidelines, precautions, and contraindications for interventions with patients who have musculoskeletal or neuromuscular problems, as well as other medical conditions such as diabetes or heart disease. Logically organized content offers at-a-glance access to essential information on common illnesses, diseases, adverse drug effects, organ transplantation, laboratory values, and more to ensure the most reliable and effective physical therapy for patients. Up-to-date coverage with contributions from more than 100 content experts in pathology and physical therapy. Revised content throughout provides the most current information required to be an effective practitioner. Full-color interior design, photos, and illustrations visually reinforce key concepts. A Therapist's Thoughts offers personal and clinical insights from experienced therapists specializing in cancer, diabetes, cystic fibrosis, women's health, lymphedema, psychological problems, and much more. Special Implications for the Therapist boxes provide information and ideas to consider when formulating a plan of care that addresses precautions, contraindications, and best practice specific to physical therapy. Current information on conditions, medical testing and treatment, and practice models keeps students up to date on the latest research findings and recent changes in the field. Key information presented in an at-a-glance format is organized by body system for easy reference. Basic science information addresses the clinical implications of disease within the rehabilitation process, covering common illnesses and diseases, adverse effects of drugs, organ transplantation, laboratory values, and much more. Coverage includes updated information on standard precautions. Separate chapter addresses laboratory tests and values that are important in physical therapy practice. Separate appendix provides guidelines for activity and exercise. A focus on health promotion and disease prevention is featured throughout the text. NEW! Enhanced eBook version is included with print purchase, which allows students to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. NEW! Completely reconfigured introductory chapters recognize how much physical consequences of trauma, social isolation, and psychiatric disorders affect recovery from pathology, and how integration of self-regulation into intervention is key to the future of practice. NEW! Expanded content on the role of epigenetics in optimizing exercise-based interventions (a concept referred to as "precision physical therapy") addresses its increasing importance in physical rehabilitation management as it relates to pathology, individual diseases, risk factors, and patient responses to physical therapy interventions. NEW! Coverage of the latest discoveries and findings in the science of quantum physics, mind-body connection, and consciousness-based energy medicine. NEW! Information on genomics and regenerative medicine as they relate to physical therapy practice. NEW! Helpful references and additional boxes/tables are available in the eBook. UPDATED! Evidence-based content with more than 7,000 references ensures content is current and applicable for today's physical therapists and physical therapist students.
Goodman and Snyder's Differential Diagnosis for Physical Therapists by
Learn how to screen for systemic and medical conditions, and when to make a physician referral! Goodman and Snyder's Differential Diagnosis for Physical Therapists, 7th Edition helps you identify the signs and symptoms of systemic disease that can mimic neuromusculoskeletal conditions. A step-by-step approach includes the screening tools you need to make an accurate differential diagnosis, describing both red flags and yellow flags as well as risk factors. This edition includes a new Screening for Neurologic Conditions chapter. From an expert team of contributors led by PT educators John Heick and Rolando Lazaro, this guide makes it easier to determine whether to treat or to refer! UNIQUE! Five-step screening model is systems- and symptoms-based, and follows the standards for competency established by the American Physical Therapy Association, covering past medical history, risk factor assessment, clinical presentation, associated signs and symptoms, and review of symptoms. UNIQUE! Case studies are based on clinical experience and give real-world examples of how to integrate screening information into the diagnostic process and when to treat or refer. Evidence for the screening process is based on peer-reviewed literature, reporting on the sensitivity, specificity, and likelihood ratios of yellow (cautionary) and red (warning) flags. Quick-reference summaries include tables, boxes, follow-up questions, clinical signs and symptoms, and case examples. Key Points to Remember boxes at the end of each chapter provide quick, bulleted summaries of critical information. Practice Questions allow you to check your understanding of concepts presented in the chapters. Laboratory tests and values relating to physical therapist practice are presented in the inside front and back covers of the text for quick reference. Screening tools and checklists are available in the book and on the Evolve website, and are downloadable and printable for use in the clinic. NEW! Revised content throughout the book provides the most current information for effective practice, and includes updated references as well as a discussion of pain mechanisms. NEW Screening for Neurologic Conditions chapter focuses on conditions that require immediate referral when the neurologic condition is in the prodromal stage and have not yet been diagnosed by a medical professional. NEW! Updated screening tools include Optimal Screening for Prediction of Referral and Outcome Yellow Flag (OSPRO-YF) and Optimal Screening for Prediction of Referral and Outcome Review of Systems (OSPRO-ROS). NEW! Enhanced eBook version is included with every print purchase, allowing access to all of the text, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. NEW! Updated appendices include screening tools and checklists, available in the eBook.
Grasshopper by
Clodagh Brown loved climbing. First it was trees. Later, as a teenager, she would scale the electrical pylons that tower over the English countryside like giant grasshoppers -- and share the experience with Daniel, her first lover. As a young woman she'd walk for miles over London's rooftops, peering through windows into people's intimate lives in a nightly ritual that bound her closely to the small group of friends with whom she lived and climbed. Looking back on it, Clodagh would claim that her passion for heights saved her life -- but not without exacting a terrible cost.... Grasshopper is Ruth Rendell's ninth novel written using the pseudonym Barbara Vine. Under her own name, Ruth Rendell writes classic whodunits featuring Inspector Wexford and novels renowned for their mastery of psychological suspense. Her Barbara Vine novels are written in exquisitely crafted layers, peeled away page by page to expose the darkest longings and obsessions of the human heart.
Huszar's ECG and 12-Lead Interpretation by
Learn to interpret cardiac dysrhythmias and successfully treat patients! Huszar's ECG and 12-Lead Interpretation, 6th Edition uses a step-by-step approach to help you build skills in accurate rhythm interpretation, diagnosis, and clinical management. Correlating ECG interpretation with clinical signs and symptoms, the text begins with basic skills and progresses to more advanced concepts. Hundreds of ECG rhythm strips provide plenty of practice with identifying heart rhythms. Written by experienced EMS physician and educator Keith Wesley, this guide is also ideal for quick reference while on the job, anywhere from the emergency department to the back of an ambulance. Comprehensive review of heart rhythm interpretation reflects current ECC guidelines. Logical organization of material teaches the way in which readers learn specific skills - ECG components are presented first, followed by rhythm interpretation and then clinical applications. Coverage of both basic and advanced concepts incorporates the latest research developments and provides material pertinent to both beginners and experienced prehospital care providers. Recognition of various heart rhythms is promoted by their appearance on the ECG, correlated with the patient's clinical signs and symptoms. Patient care algorithms outline step-by-step management and treatment, correlating ECG interpretation with history and exam findings. Advanced-level treatment content includes complete thrombus formation, treatment, and management. Take-Home Points summarize each chapter, highlighting need-to-know information about the most important topics. Author's Notes provide tips on alternative diagnoses, possible complications of warning signs, normal variations, and more, allowing you to benefit from the author's decades of experience. Expert author Dr. Keith Wesley is a board-certified emergency medicine physician and has been involved in EMS since 1989. Learning features include chapter outlines, learning objectives, key terms, chapter review questions, quick-reference summaries of the key characteristics of each heart rhythm, Drug Caution boxes, and a glossary. NEW! Updated content includes the latest guidelines from the American Heart Association Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Emergency Cardiovascular Care and also the International Consensus on Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Emergency Cardiovascular Care Science with Treatment Recommendations. NEW! Updated learning features include key definitions, ECG Keys boxes, Take-Home Points, author's notes, chapter review questions, an appendix of more than 250 self-assessment rhythm strips, and an appendix of answers to the chapter review questions.
Improving Functional Outcomes in Physical Rehabilitation by
Achieve the best functional outcomes for your patients. Here is a practical, step-by-step guide to understanding the treatment process and selecting the most appropriate interventions for your patients. Superbly illustrated, in-depth coverage shows you how to identify functional deficits, determine what treatments are appropriate, and then implement them to achieve the best functional outcome for your patients. Learn through reading, seeing, and doing. Seventeen case studies in the text correspond to seventeen videotaped case studies with voice-over narration online at FADavis.com. These videos show you how practicing therapists interact with their clients in rehabilitation settings...from sample elements of the initial examination through the interventions to the functional outcomes...to make a difference in patients' lives.
Joint Structure and Function by 
Michlovitz's Modalities for Therapeutic Intervention by
A volume in the Contemporary Perspectives in Rehabilitation Series, curated by Steven L. Wolf, PhD, PT, FAPTA Implement a current, evidence-based approach to the selection, application, and uses of therapeutic modalities as an essential tool for functionally based rehabilitation and as a complement to other types of interventions in a patient-centered model of care. The 7th Edition of this groundbreaking text fosters an in-depth understanding of the science behind each modality, its advantages and limitations, its appropriateness for specific conditions, and its implementation. A hands-on problem-solving approach promotes the development of essential clinical decision-making skills through a wealth of full-color photographs and illustrations, special features, and challenging cases studies. See what students and practitioners are saying about the previous edition... Recommend this book. "Great clinical reference for young therapists and seasoned therapists alike. Great information in a nicely organized book."--Jane D., Online Reviewer Excellent book "Excellent content. Therapeutic modalities and many more... including spinal decompression devices."--Online Reviewer
Motor Control by 
Motor Control and Learning by
Motor Control and Learning, Sixth Edition With Web Resource, focuses on observable movement behavior, the many factors that influence quality of movement, and how movement skills are acquired. The text examines the motivational, cognitive, biomechanical, and neurological processes of complex motor behaviors that allow human movement to progress from unrefined and clumsy to masterfully smooth and agile. This updated sixth edition builds upon the foundational work of Richard Schmidt and Timothy Lee in previous editions. The three new authors--each a distinguished scholar--offer a range and depth of knowledge that includes current directions in the field. The extensively revised content reflects the latest research and new directions in motor control and learning. Additional new features of the sixth edition include the following: * A web resource that includes narratives and learning activities from Motor Control in Everyday Actions that correspond with the chapters in the book, giving students additional opportunities to analyze how research in motor learning and control can be expanded and applied in everyday settings * An instructor guide that offers sample answers for the learning experiences found in the student web resource * New content on sleep and movement memory, the role of vision, illusions and reaching, the OPTIMAL theory of motor learning, the neuroscience of learning, and more Motor Control and Learning begins with a brief introduction to the field and an introduction to important concepts and research methods. Part II thoroughly covers motor control with topics such as closed-loop perspective, the role of the central nervous system for movement control, speed and accuracy, and coordination. Part III deals with motor learning, exploring the effects of attentional focus, the structure of practice sessions, the role of feedback, theoretical views of motor learning, and the retention and transfer of skills. Throughout the book, art and practical examples are included to elucidate complex topics. Sidebars with historical examples, classic research, and examples of real-world applications highlight the importance of motor control and learning research and bring attention to influential research studies and pioneers. End-of-chapter summaries and student assignments reinforce important concepts and terms and provide review opportunities. For instructors, an image bank complements the new instructor guide; it is available to course adopters at www.HumanKinetics.com/MotorControlAndLearning. The updated research, new features, and highly respected authors of Motor Control and Learning, Sixth Edition With Web Study Guide, provide a solid foundation for both students and practitioners who study and work in fields that encompass movement behavior.
Netter's Orthopaedic Clinical Examination by
Offering a thorough, highly illustrated review of the musculoskeletal physical exam, this practical guide covers relevant anatomy, pathoanatomy, and special tests using the well-known art of Dr. Frank H. Netter as well as clinical photographs. Netter's Orthopaedic Clinical Examination: An Evidence-Based Approach, 4th Edition, provides the information you need to assess the reliability and diagnostic utility of musculoskeletal physical exams and incorporate evidence into your clinical decision making. Summary tables and carefully selected references highlight best available evidence, providing a practical resource for the busy student and clinician. Provides up-to-date, actionable summaries of available evidence so you can quickly evaluate the effectiveness of clinical tests, review recent studies, and determine which test will best predict a specific diagnosis. Includes more than 25 videos showing movement for select tests, helping you get the most clinically significant information from the orthopaedic examination. Presents classic Netter artwork and anatomy/biomechanics tables that enhance your understanding of the orthopedic anatomy and pathology of each joint. Uses a practical, tabular format that provides quick access to test reliability and diagnostic utility, study quality, anatomy and biomechanics, and summary recommendations for applying evidence in practice. Features an assessment of study quality (QUADAS) appendix and color-coded icons identifying study quality that draw your attention to top-quality studies and help you understand why some studies were included and others omitted. Adds a scale to reliability tables, making it easy to focus on approaches and tests with the highest reliability, and includes QAREL (Quality Appraisal for Reliability Studies) checklists for each reliability study. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Neuroanatomy Through Clinical Cases by
Neuroanatomy through Clinical Cases is widely acclaimed for bringing a pioneering interactive approach to the teaching of neuroanatomy. The book uses over 100 actual clinical cases and high-quality radiologic images to bring the subject to life. The third edition is fully updated with thelatest advances in the field, and includes several exciting new cases. This approach allows students to appreciate the clinical relevance of structural details as they are being learned, and to integrate knowledge of disparate functional systems, so the practical knowledge of neuroanatomy is notsoon forgotten.
Oncology Rehabilitation by
Use evidence-based intervention techniques to care for persons diagnosed and living with and beyond cancer! Oncology Rehabilitation: A Comprehensive Guidebook for Clinicians describes the adverse effects caused by cancer treatment and shows how to use oncology rehabilitation to optimize the quality of life for persons living with and beyond cancer at all stages of life. Guidelines help you build skills in pre-diagnosis, prevention of cancer-related fatigue and pain, active treatment, and end-of-life care, all as an integral part of an interdisciplinary cancer management team. Written by physical therapists for physical therapists, this text provides best practices for manual therapy, exercise testing and exercise programs, and treatment of adverse effects by body system throughout the patient's cancer journey. Coverage of physical therapy patient management includes acute care, outpatient, and multidisciplinary clinical settings, along with in-depth therapeutic management interventions. Content on the continuum of cancer care addresses the primordial, primary, secondary, tertiary, and quaternary stages in prevention and treatment. Focus on clinicians includes the professional roles, responsibilities, self-care, and values of the oncology rehabilitation clinician as an integral member of the cancer care team. Information on inseparable contextual factors helps in dealing with administrative infrastructure and support, advocacy, payment, and reimbursement of rehabilitation as well as public policy. Evidence Summary and Key Points boxes highlight important information for quick, at-a-glance reference. Clinical case studies and review questions enhance your critical thinking skills and help you prepare for board certification, specialty practice, and/or residency. Enhanced eBook version- included with print purchase- allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Resources in the eBook include videos, board-review questions, case studies, and a curriculum map to highlight and demonstrate the correlation to the requirements for Oncology Rehabilitation Residency programs and the board certification exam. Guidebook approach provides immediate, meaningful application for the practicing oncology rehabilitation clinician.
Orthopedic Physical Assessment by
Build your skills in the assessment of musculoskeletal pathology! Orthopedic Physical Assessment, 7th Edition covers the principles of assessment for all of the body's structures and joints, including topics such as gait, posture, the head and face, amputees, primary care, and sports emergencies. The 7th edition offers additional functional assessment forms (e-tools), updated evidence-based reliability and validity tables, and hundreds of video clips demonstrating special tests on how to perform musculoskeletal assessment. Written by noted PT educators David J. Magee and Robert C. Manske, this reference uses a systematic, evidence-based approach to prepare you for success in clinicals, board exams, and in rehabilitation practice. Over 2,500 full-color illustrations and photographs depict key concepts, along with assessment techniques and special tests. At-a-glance icons show the clinical utility of special tests, supplemented by updated, evidence-based reliability and validity tables for tests and techniques Quick-reference data includes hundreds of summary boxes, red-flag and yellow-flag boxes, differential diagnosis tables, muscle and nerve tables, and classification, normal values, and grading tables. A Summary (Précis) of Assessment in each chapter serves as a review of assessment steps. Combined with other books in the Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation series - Scientific Foundations and Principles of Practice, Pathology and Intervention, and Athletic and Sports Issues - this book provides you with the knowledge and background necessary to assess and treat musculoskeletal conditions. NEW! Updated information in all chapters includes new special tests, as well as photos, line drawings, boxes, tables, and references. NEW! Head and Face chapter features updated information on concussion management. NEW! Enhanced Diagnostic Ultrasound Imaging section added to applicable chapters, along with new photos and diagnostic images. NEW! Updated psychometric tables for special tests list reliability, sensitivity, specificity, and + and - likelihood ratios when available. NEW! More case studies present real-life scenarios to help you develop assessment and diagnostic skills using information from the chapter. NEW! Additional functional assessment forms (e-tools) have been incorporated. NEW! Video clips demonstrate special tests to give you a clearer understanding of how to perform musculoskeletal assessment. NEW! Enhanced ebook version, included with print purchase, provides access to all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pharmacology in Rehabilitation by
For more than 25 years, Dr. Charles Ciccone has been the forerunner in helping physical therapists explore how medications affect patient rehabilitation. And he's been updating his text ever since to make sure you stay on the brink of science and innovation as drug changes occur every day and expectations for your role continually evolve. With the 5th Edition, you'll find even more case studies, review questions, information on vitamins and supplements, and expanded coverage of chemotherapy and cancer treatments.
Physical Rehabilitation by
This book is every Physical Therapy Students Bible. If ... "you purchase this book during your first semester of PT school, it will help you immensely! Don't wait until Neuro PT to purchase this book. Use this book as a guide for every PT class from Integumentary to Pediatrics to Neuroanatomy!"--Amazon Reviewer A must-have for all PT's, PTA's and PT/PTA students..."Basically Wikipedia for physical therapy only has a lot more specific information pertaining to client/patient care and doesn't require a computer."--Alex N., Amazon Reviewer Five Stars. "This book is very comprehensive and contains almost everything you need to know for the NPTE exam."--Laura M., Amazon Reviewer Rely on this comprehensive, curriculum-spanning text and reference now and throughout your career! You'll find everything you need to know about the rehabilitation management of adult patients... from integrating basic surgical, medical, and therapeutic interventions to how to select the most appropriate evaluation procedures, develop rehabilitation goals, and implement a treatment plan. Online you'll find narrated, full-color video clips of patients in treatment, including the initial examination, interventions, and outcomes for a variety of the conditions commonly seen in rehabilitation settings.
Pierson and Fairchild's Principles and Techniques of Patient Care by
Before you can master your role in physical therapy, you must first master the basics of patient care! Pierson and Fairchild's Principles & Techniques of Patient Care, 7th Edition provides a solid foundation in the knowledge and skills needed for effective patient care. Clear, step-by-step instructions show how to safely perform common procedures and tasks such as assessment of vital signs, positioning and draping, range of motion exercises, and patient transfer activities. Rationales make it easy to understand why specific techniques are used. Written by physical therapy experts Sheryl Fairchild and Roberta O'Shea, this book includes an enhanced eBook - free with each new print purchase - with video clips demonstrating procedures and techniques. Content based on the World Health Organization's ICF model (International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health) - the model currently endorsed by the APTA and AOTA - ensures you are referencing the most current theories and practice guidelines of physical and occupational therapy. More than 800 full-color photographs illustrate the concepts and techniques used in the assessment and management of patients in the rehabilitation setting. Procedure boxes include clear guidelines for performing each step of patient care tasks such as proper lifting techniques, patient transfers, basic wound care, and assessment of vital signs. Insights into physiological principles and rationales explain why specific techniques and procedures are used. Guidelines, principles, and precautions boxes offer additional tips for optimal assessment and management of patients in the rehabilitation setting. Self-study and problem-solving activities include case studies at the end of each chapter to help you understand important concepts and practice your decision-making and problem-solving skills. Coverage of professionalism, professional values, and ethics discusses workplace guidelines and describes how to apply those guidelines to your patient interactions. NEW! Revised content provides the current information you need to be an effective practitioner in physical therapy and occupational therapy, and includes input from clinical experts. NEW! Content on COVID-19 includes instructions on donning and doffing PPE, and is aligned with the latest CDC guidelines. NEW! Updated patient questions and documentation guidelines on wound care are included. NEW! Coverage of preventive patient positioning and objectively assessing patient pain is updated and expanded. NEW sections address early mobilization and exercise in the ICU. NEW! Enhanced eBook version - included with print purchase - allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. NEW! Video clips are included in the eBook, demonstrating techniques and procedures.
Planning, Implementing & Evaluating Health Promotion Programs by
For undergraduate courses in Health Education, Promotion, and Planning. Provide Students with the Tools They Need to Be Successful in Health Promotion Planning, Implementing, and Evaluating Health Promotion Programs: A Primer provides students with a comprehensive overview of the practical and theoretical skills needed to plan, implement, and evaluate health promotion programs in a variety of settings. The Seventh Edition features updated information throughout, including the new Responsibilities and Competencies generated from the Health Education Specialist Practice Analysis-2015 (HESPA-2015), and reflects the latest trends in the field.
Quick Reference Neuroscience for Rehabilitation Professionals by
A concise and quick reference for the practitioner and student who are learning or reviewing the most relevant neuroscience principles supporting rehabilitation therapy. The updated third edition continues to meet a need in the rehabilitation profession that has gone unfilled - the ability to break down neuroscience information into the essential principles that can be used to understand neurological conditions and the principles underlying rehabilitation evaluation and practice. This fully-updated third edition provides a quick review of specific neuroscience concepts and principles that support rehabilitation interventions. In this era of information overload, this text rapidly and thoroughly provides condensed information in a user-friendly, easy-to-use format for readers to review and convey relevant information to patients. Sharon Gutman has organised the text into three parts: the first addresses neuroanatomy; the second addresses the function of neurological systems underlying physical, psychiatric, cognitive, and visual perceptual disorders; and the final section addresses clinical neuropathology related to ageing, addiction, memory, and the neurological substrates of sex and gender. A specific section describes the common neurodiagnostic tests that therapists do not administer but must have knowledge of when results are discussed at treatment team meetings. Features of the third edition: Presented in a simple and organised bulleted format. Large-scale colour illustrations to easily visualise neuroanatomical structures and systems. Text boxes to apply key neuroscience concepts to the understanding of common neurological disorders and treatment. Updated clinical test questions and glossary. The third edition bridges a gap by quickly providing the rehabilitation professional with the most salient information needed to understand neurologic principles underlying rehabilitation practice.
Textbook of Physical Diagnosis by
Mastering each aspect of the patient interview and physical exam is fundamental to medical education, resulting in more accurate diagnostic skills, more effective patient management, and better patient outcomes! Dr. Swartz's Textbook of Physical Diagnosis is a highly respected reference in this critical area, offering a compassionate, humanistic approach to the art and science of interviewing and physical examination. From cover to cover, you'll learn how your interpersonal awareness is just as important in physical diagnosis as your level of skill - and why clinical competence in this area is essential for physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and all members of the healthcare profession. Explores how cultural differences can influence communication, diet, family relationships, and health practices and beliefs - which may affect your approach to a patient's treatment. Features hundreds of high-quality color images, an easy-to-use design, and detailed descriptions of practical techniques throughout. Offers clear, easy-to-understand explanations of interviewing and examination techniques, clinical presentations, pathophysiology, complementary and alternative medicine, and physical diagnosis standards and tests. All chapters completely reviewed and revised. Features a new chapter on deconstructing racism and bias in clinical medicine. Provides expanded coverage of the musculoskeletal system with more specialty examinations of joints. Emphasizes precision, accuracy, and critical thinking in clinical assessment. Highlights clinical ethics and professionalism. Includes more than 6 hours of in-depth video, featuring step-by-step key aspects of the physical examination for adults, toddlers, and newborns, important interviewing scenarios, and audio of heart and lung sounds. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. All chapters and images reviewed and updated Enhanced musculoskeletal system chapter with more specialty techniques of joints Enhanced clinical reasoning chapter to include critical thinking New chapter tentatively titled "Mitigating Racism and Bias in Clinical Medicine". This will include: - Unconscious bias - Racism - Diversity, inclusion & cultural competence - Social determinants of health - Gender identity and sexual orientation
Umphred's Neurological Rehabilitation by
Develop problem-solving strategies for individualized, effective neurologic care! Under the new leadership of Rolando Lazaro, Umphred's Neurological Rehabilitation, 7th Edition, covers the therapeutic management of people with activity limitations, participation restrictions, and quality of life issues following a neurological event. This comprehensive reference reviews basic theory and addresses the best evidence for evaluation tools and interventions commonly used in today's clinical practice. It applies a time-tested, evidence-based approach to neurological rehabilitation that is perfect for both the classroom and the clinic. Now fully searchable with additional case studies through Student Consult, this edition includes updated chapters and the latest advances in neuroscience. Comprehensive reference offers a thorough understanding of all aspects of neurological rehabilitation. Expert authorship and editors lend their experience and guidance for on-the-job success. UNIQUE! A section on neurological problems accompanying specific system problems includes hot topics such as poor vision, vestibular dysfunction, dementia and problems with cognition, and aging with a disability. A problem-solving approach helps you apply your knowledge to examinations, evaluations, prognoses, and intervention strategies. Evidence-based research sets up best practices, covering topics such as the theory of neurologic rehabilitation, screening and diagnostic tests, treatments and interventions, and the patient's psychosocial concerns. Case studies use real-world examples to promote problem-solving skills. Comprehensive coverage of neurological rehabilitation across the lifespan - from pediatrics to geriatrics. Terminology adheres to the best practices, follows The Guide to Physical Therapy Practice and the WHO-ICF World Health model. NEW! enhanced eBook on Student Consult. UPDATED! Color photos and line drawings clearly demonstrate important concepts and clinical conditions students will encounter in practice. NEW and EXPANDED! Additional case studies and videos illustrate how concepts apply to practice. Updated chapters incorporate the latest advances and the newest information in neurological rehabilitation strategies. NEW and UNIQUE! New chapter on concussion has been added. Separate and expanded chapters on two important topics: Balance and Vestibular.
FIND US ON