Research Guides: Social Work Research Guide: Finding Articles

Article Databases

DSM-5
Diagnostic And Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5). Also available; DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and the out of print DSM-5.
Social Work Abstracts
Abstracts of journals dealing with all aspects of social work; theory, practice service areas and social issues.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Full-text articles covering sociology and related issues of gender studies, criminal justice, racial studies, and social work.
Sociology
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
This is a continuously updated online collaboration between NASW Press and Oxford University Press. It includes 700+ articles on key topics from international issues to ethical standards, 200+ biographies on key figures, and references and links to related social work resources.

Due to the interdisciplinary nature of social work, you may need to consult databases that specialize in other subjects or disciplines, such as medicine, psychology, or education. A complete list of social work and related subject databases can be found by clicking the "View All Social Work Databases" button below.

MEDLINE with Full Text
Similar to searching PubMed through NLM, but includes access to significantly more full-text documents and uses the familiar EBSCOhost search interface.
Link to Medline with Full Text (off campus access requires SHU username and password required)
PsycINFO
Published by the American Psychological Association and has full-text articles and abstracts on all aspects of psychology and related disciplines from over 2,200 journals, some dating from 1887.
ERIC
Full-text articles on educational literature and resources with links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Full text articles on the effects of healthcare, focusing on evidence-based medicine and studies, from 4800 records.
Trip
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Having a clear, compelling point of view on today’s most debated political and social issues requires finding the most credible facts and insights. Opposing Viewpoints In Context simplifies your search by bringing together thousands of resources to provide authoritative articles, research reports, videos, and statistics. This database steers you away from unreliable content that online browsers sometimes serve up and helps you draw your own conclusions about global warming, the minimum wage, and hundreds of other debated topics.

View All Social Work Databases

Locating a Specific Article or Journal Title

Citation Linker - Locate and access articles using their citation information. Watch our Citation Linker Tutorial.

Publication Finder - Find a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper. Watch our Publication Finder Tutorial.

Interlibrary Loan - requesting books and articles from other libraries

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) allows you to place requests for articles, books, or book chapters that are not available in the SHU library's collection. Login to your ILL Account to begin requesting, or visit the ILL Help section.

ILL Account Login

Social Work Research Guide

Ask Your LIbrarian

Erin Thompson

Tutorials

Article Databases

Locating a Specific Article or Journal Title

Interlibrary Loan - requesting books and articles from other libraries

Search

Research Support

Using the Library

User Information

About Us

My Accounts