ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription by
Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase of the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials. The flagship title from the prestigious American College of Sports Medicine, this critical handbook delivers scientifically based, evidence-informed standards to prepare you for success. Providing succinct summaries of recommended procedures for exercise testing and exercise prescription in healthy and diseased patients, this trusted manual is an essential resource for all exercise professionals, as well as other health professionals who may counsel patients on exercise including physicians, nurses, physician assistants, physical and occupational therapists, dieticians, and health care administrators. The extensively updated eleventh edition has been reorganized for greater clarity and integrates the latest Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans. UPDATED! Integrated guidelines, including the 2018 Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans, reflect the most current, clinically sound approaches to exercise testing and prescription. NEW! Chapter on conditions that affect the brain familiarizes students with specific strategies for the treatment of Parkinson's disease, Alzheimer's disease, autism, depression and anxiety. UPDATED! Enhanced organization helps students find information quickly and easily. FITT (Frequency, Intensity, Time, Type) boxes make locating critical exercise prescription information quick and easy. Revised appendices integrate valuable information on ECGs, medication and emergency management where it is most relevant. A new appendix on metabolic equations is included. Additional boxes, tables, and figures highlight important concepts and approaches at a glance. Lippincott® Connect features: Full access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
ACSM's Resources for the Personal Trainer by
An essential resource to prepare for the ACSM Certified Personal Trainer examination, ACSM's Resources for the Personal Trainer, 6th Edition, provides critical insights for Certified Personal Trainer candidates looking to boost their exam confidence, as well as practicing Personal Trainers who want to take their practice to the next level. This updated edition is fully aligned with the eleventh edition of ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription and equips readers with the latest practices in client screening, exercise program development, and working with special populations. Published by the American College of Sports Medicine, this top-selling text guides readers from an introduction to the profession and the science behind the field through the building blocks of a successful exercise program and ultimately the establishment of a successful personal training practice. Engaging case studies and study features help ensure the retention for success on the ACSM-CPT exam and provide prospective and practicing Personal Trainers with both the tools and scientific evidence to build safe and effective exercise programs for a variety of clients. NEW! Update content aligned with the 11th edition of ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription prepares students to confidently perform the most effective client fitness assessments and create successful resistance training programs. UPDATED! Full-color photographs clarify concepts and techniques. Chapter objectives keep students focused on the most vital content. Case Studies provide essential practice applying concepts to realistic scenarios commonly encountered by Certified Personal Trainers. Key Points and chapter summaries reinforce important chapter takeaways.
Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning by
Developed by the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA) and now in its fourth edition, Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning is the essential text for strength and conditioning professionals and students. This comprehensive resource, created by 30 expert contributors in the field, explains the key theories, concepts, and scientific principles of strength training and conditioning as well as their direct application to athletic competition and performance. The scope and content of Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning, Fourth Edition With HKPropel Access, have been updated to convey the knowledge, skills, and abilities required of a strength and conditioning professional and to address the latest information found on the Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist (CSCS) exam. The evidence-based approach and unbeatable accuracy of the text make it the primary resource to rely on for CSCS exam preparation. The text is organized to lead readers from theory to program design and practical strategies for administration and management of strength and conditioning facilities. The fourth edition contains the most current research and applications and several new features: Online videos featuring 21 resistance training exercises demonstrate proper exercise form for classroom and practical use. Updated research--specifically in the areas of high-intensity interval training, overtraining, agility and change of direction, nutrition for health and performance, and periodization--helps readers better understand these popular trends in the industry. A new chapter with instructions and photos presents techniques for exercises using alternative modes and nontraditional implements. Ten additional tests, including those for maximum strength, power, and aerobic capacity, along with new flexibility exercises, resistance training exercises, plyometric exercises, and speed and agility drills help professionals design programs that reflect current guidelines. Key points, chapter objectives, and learning aids including key terms and self-study questions provide a structure to help students and professionals conceptualize the information and reinforce fundamental facts. Application sidebars provide practical application of scientific concepts that can be used by strength and conditioning specialists in real-world settings, making the information immediately relatable and usable. Online learning tools delivered through HKPropel provide students with 11 downloadable lab activities for practice and retention of information. Further, both students and professionals will benefit from the online videos of 21 foundational exercises that provide visual instruction and reinforce proper technique. Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning, Fourth Edition, provides the most comprehensive information on organization and administration of facilities, testing and evaluation, exercise techniques, training adaptations, program design, and structure and function of body systems. Its scope, precision, and dependability make it the essential preparation text for the CSCS exam as well as a definitive reference for strength and conditioning professionals to consult in their everyday practice. Note: A code for accessing HKPropel is included with all new print books.
Gould's Pathophysiology for the Health Professions by
Learn the essential concepts of major diseases/disorders and disease processes. Gould's Pathophysiology for the Health Professions, 6th Edition is a concise, easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of pathophysiology. Continuing in its well-known tradition of readability and vivid, full-color illustrations, the text is updated with the latest research and trends in human disease. Disorders are described by body system, with coverage of the interactions between systems, and special features help you to apply the material to real-life situations. No matter which healthcare field you may enter, this book provides solid preparation for the conditions you may encounter in clinical practice. Updated graphics help you recognize and identify various concepts and specific disorders through enhanced flowcharts, photos, and illustrations. Concise and readable approach includes the information you need without overwhelming you, even if you have a limited scientific background. Format for individual disorder discussions includes 1) background, 2) pathophysiology, 3) etiology, 4) signs and symptoms, 5) diagnoses, 6) possible related complications/disorders, and 7) treatments/research. UNIQUE! Apply Your Knowledge questions ask you to use what you've learned to predict What can go wrong with this structure or system, transitioning you from normal anatomy and physiology into pathophysiology. UNIQUE! Think About questions alert you to important points and help with self-evaluation, test preparation, and review. Warning Signs boxes help in identifying the pre-emptive signs of physiologic events such as strokes. Emergency Treatment boxes give step-by-step instructions to follow for emergencies such as shock, cardiac arrest, and pneumothorax. Research boxes discuss new developments, problem areas of pathophysiology, and complications associated with research. Key terms, learning objectives, and bulleted chapter summaries help you focus on key concepts and information. NEW! All chapters updated to include new data on major diseases and other changes in guidelines and the literature, reflecting latest developments in pathophysiology including, updated drug therapy content, expanded coverage of viruses, new cancer treatments, new research on the links between mental health and biochemical/physiologic factors, and much more! NEW! Streamlined narrative content enhances the readability of imperative information.
Strength and Conditioning in Sports by
This book provides a clear link between the application of sports science principles and theory to practice. The book allows practitioners to go off and design and defend their own evidence-based training programmes Provides the reader with an appropriate background in physiology, biomechanics and psychology to aid in the development of the training process
Successful Coaching by
Successful Coaching has helped more than a million coaches--aspiring, new, and seasoned coaches alike--develop and expand their knowledge of coaching to provide the best, most fulfilling sport experience for their athletes. In the revised fifth edition, author and sport psychologist Rainer Martens is joined by coauthor Robin Vealey, longtime professor of sport psychology at Miami University (Ohio). Together they bring to the text their knowledge and proficiency, gleaned from decades of personal experiences as coaches, athletes, and educators. Successful Coaching will help you think critically about your approach to coaching and develop the skills and wisdom to fulfill your many responsibilities as coach: Identify your coaching philosophy and coaching objectives Build relationships with players and staff and promote teamwork Nurture positive decision making and sportsmanship to develop more mature individuals Coach athletes of diverse backgrounds, characteristics, interests, and abilities Teach and practice sport skills and strategies using the games approach Train, condition, and fuel athletes using sound principles and methods Organize and guide your team and sport program Manage relationships with administrators, officials, parents, and media Minimize risk and meet your legal duties as a coach The fifth edition of Successful Coaching has been carefully revised in accordance with recommendations of the National Standards for Sport Coaches. Updates and additions include the latest scientific research in physical training and nutrition, plus best practices, guidelines, and insights from successful coaches addressing today's foremost topics of concern: Mental health issues, including depression, anxiety, and disordered eating Race, ethnicity, and sexual orientation in youth sport Sexual harassment and abuse Motivation, corrective discipline, and burnout Alcohol consumption, drug use, and vaping Chapters are punctuated with supplemental content to underscore key concepts. Current insights, innovations, and quotes from recognized coaches demonstrate how to overcome common and challenging coaching situations. Coaching Yourself sidebars and end-of-chapter Questions for Reflection challenge you to think critically about your own coaching style and how to apply key principles in real coaching situations. Sample coaching forms that can be modified for personal use are provided online. Written by coaches for coaches, Successful Coaching is a practical, readable, and useful resource that you'll refer to throughout the season and cherish more than your playbook. Successful Coaching is the text for Human Kinetics' Coaching Principles course. Coaching Principles is recognized by numerous state high school and athletic directors' associations, school districts, national governing bodies, and other sport organizations as meeting coaching education and certification requirements. In addition, hundreds of colleges and universities have adopted Coaching Principles for graduate and undergraduate coaching programs. Note: A code for accessing HKPropel is included with all print books.
FIND US ON