APA Quick Guide - The SHU Library's own citation reference guide on the most commonly cited resources is based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition, and provides examples for both in-text citations and reference lists
Purdue OWL APA (7th Edition) - This guide from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab is one of the most popular and comprehensive free online guides on writing and citing in APA style
Citation Management tools are highly recommended to students. The library recommends Zotero, but others such as Mendeley also include free versions and are popular in the Health Sciences.
Zotero Download - Download the Zotero software now
Zotero Tutorial - Get you started using Zotero.
Click the link below to visit the Citation Help page for information on additional resources and also extra APA resources, including an instructional video on APA and an interactive tutorial to help familiarize yourself using APA style.
Citation style depends largely on the preferences of your class instructor and the academic discipline under consideration. The following titles are the official style guides for the four most widely used citation systems at Sacred Heart University: Chicago, MLA, AMA, and APA.
To examine more about the differences between styles and for information on citing sources using these systems, see the books in the SHU Library collection below or take a look at AMA, APA, CSE, MLA, and Chicago quick guides, as well as our supplemental guide for audiovisual and digital resources, here.
AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors by
For decades indispensable, the AMA Manual of Style continues to provide editorial support to the medical and scientific publishing community. Since the 1998 publication of the 9th edition, however, the world of medical publishing has rapidly modernized, and the intersection of research and publishing has become ever more complex. The 10th edition of the AMA Manual of Style brings this definitive manual into the 21st century with a broadened international perspective. In doing so, the 10th edition has expanded its electronic guidelines, with the understanding that authors now routinely submit articles through online systems and often cite Web-only content. Ethical and legal issues receive increased attention, with detailed guidelines on authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, and the protection of individuals' rights in scientific research and publication. The new edition examines research ethics and editorial independence and features new material on indexing and searching as well as medical nomenclature.
The Chicago Manual of Style by
In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators.
MLA Handbook: Eighth Edition by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
FIND US ON