Skip to main content

Public Health Research Guide: Saving and Emailing Articles

Saving Your Research

  • On this page you can learn how to:
  1. Save specific articles by emailing them to yourself
  2. Save articles using an EBSCOhost account  
  3. Save your searches using an EBSOhost account
  4. Save research in the free resource management software Zotero (Recommended

Saving Articles

  • One of the most common ways to save specific articles is to email them to yourself from whichever database you are using.
  • The slideshow below explains step-by-step how to select and email any article (or articles) from the QuickSearch or any database from the database company EBSCO, which includes many of our major and most commonly-used databases, including:
    • CINAHL 
    • MEDLINE
    • Academic Search Premier
    • PsycINFO
  • Library databases that come from other database companies (like Nursing & Allied Health Database) use near-identical processes for users to email articles to themselves.
  • You can set up a free EBSCOhost account on the QuickSearch (or any individual database from the database company EBSCO) and save articles there. 
  • This is a completely optional account that you can choose to set up on your own. It is not an account that you will automatically receive as a student.
  • Also, this is an account you will need to remember to sign into anytime you want to save any articles or other resources into it. If you forget to sign into your  EBSCOhost account, any articles you try to save will only be saved into a temporary folder.     
  • In the QuickSearch and most databases you have the option to view and save your searches.
  • If you are using the QuickSearch or any EBSCO database, you can view your searches simply by clicking Search History below the last search field.  

  • Besides viewing your recent searches, you will also have the option to print searches, or even save searches with a MyEBSCOHost account if you have set one up. 

  • Non-EBSCO databases will have the same options, except that the search history might be labeled Recent Searches instead.
  • Another option for saving articles is to use the resource management software Zotero, which is used by many students in the College of Nursing and the College of Health Professions. It is available for free at Zotero.org, and you can learn how to download and use this software in the tutorial down below. You can also learn more about it through the detailed Zotero Research Guide. 
  • The main advantage of using Zotero vs. saving articles on a My EBSCOhost account is that the My EBSCOhost accounts only let you save articles found on specific EBSCO databases or the QuickSearch, which can search most of the library's resources but not all of them. Meanwhile, Zotero will allow you to save articles from any database or search engine that's open on your browser
Loading ...