Avoid focusing any research on just one or two databases, and instead research your topic across several databases. While there is overlap between the health sciences databases, there are also many journals that are accessible only through specific databases. So by limiting yourself to which databases you use, you may potentially miss out on quality resources
Most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo.
One of the largest single-database aggregations of searchable scientific, technical and medical full-text articles available exclusively through Ovid Online. Includes jourals covering topics in evidence based medicine and systematic reviews.
An easy-to-use web-based Geographic Information System (GIS), use Policy Map to create maps of the United States down to the Census block group in many cases. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.
Full-text articles covering sociology and related issues of gender studies, criminal justice, racial studies, and social work.
Free Online Databases
The following are quality resources that you can access online for free.
Be aware that in some of the search engines here (like Pubmed or Google Scholar), many of the articles will not be available in full text. Instead, they will be inaccessible behind a subscription paywall.
We request that you never purchase an article online for your research. Instead, please use the library's Citation Linker or Journal Finder to check and see if we have a specific article available in full text in our databases. If we don't have an item, you can request it through our interlibrary loan.
provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
The world's most comprehensive biomedical database produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes many biomedical resources not available through Medline and provides additional search filters and online tools including dozens of electronic books.