Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
A bibliography is a collection of citations from books, articles, documents, etc. used in a research project. Bibliographies are constructed using a specific citation style (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.).
To annotate your bibliography, means to provide a brief summary or assessment of the resource.
An annotated bibliography is an excellent way for the researcher to critically analyze the content of a resource in a condensed fashion, typically from a few sentences to a few paragraphs, to aid in their own understanding of their resources, as well as providing important information to readers.
Citation Style Guides for Creating an Annotated Bibliography
Use the following style guides to determine the correct format for your annotated bibliography. The style used will depend on the discipline covered and/or the instructions provided by your instructor.
The Chicago Manual of Style by In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators.
Call Number: REF Z253 .U69 2017
Publication Date: 2017
MLA Handbook: Eighth Edition by The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.
Call Number: REF LB2369 .M52 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.
Call Number: REF BF76.7 .P83 2010
Publication Date: 2009
*Annotations in MLA, APA, and Chicago style:
*“Purdue OWL: Annotated Bibliographies,” Purdue Online Writing Lab, accessed September 8, 2016, https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/03/.