Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Study Abroad

Information for SHU students who are interested in studying abroad.

Using library resources for your research

Using Sacred Heart's Library when abroad is still possible as long as you have an internet connection.  You will be able to search the databases using remote access.  If you find information that is not full-text, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.  Make sure that you specify in the notes section that you are an SHU student studying abroad.  Remember that we also have thousand's of e-books in our collection.  You can search the catalog for those.  There will be a link to the e-book in the catalog record.  Physical books will not be available to you, nor can you request physical books through interlibrary loan.  We suggest that you use the library affiliated with your educational institution for those.

If you have trouble finding resources, check the Research Guides linked on the library's home page.  A number of disciplines have a LibGuide.  And, as always, if you need help, you can still contact the Reference Desk at the library by sending us an email at reference@sacredheart.edu

Remote Access

To access the online databases or e-books from any off-campus location, you will need to use the network user ID assigned to you by Sacred Heart University. The username is usually your last name, first inital. The password is your email password. The sign-on is the same as your SHU email, Blackboard and WebAdvisor.

When you click on the title of one of the databases or the link to an e-book, a box will pop up asking for this information. On the first line, type just your username. On the second line, type in your password. Hit enter.

Once you have accessed one database, you will be able to access any other database through our library website. However, if you let the database sit idle for 20 minutes or longer, you will be logged out and you will have to sign in again using the same procedure.

Help with research

The research databases are available to you anywhere you have internet access.  If you are off-campus, you will need to log in with your SHU username and password.  The box will pop up when you click on the title of one of the databases.  Once in, you can access any database.  Be aware that you will be logged off after 20 minutes of inactivity.  This will cause you to lose all results if you were in the middle of a search. 

The link below is a LibGuide that will provide instruction on how to do research.

Accessibility