Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business, Finance, Economics: Includes local and regional business publications, trade and industry periodicals and the Wall Street Journal. Also includes coverage markets including real estate, environment, healthcare, and education administration.
Business Insights: Global
Business collection including company fundamentals, investment reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data & company histories.
Business Source Premier
Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Covers more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.
EconLit with Full Text
Contains citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969 with full text for more than 480 journals.
Hoover's Company Profiles
Business, Economics, Finance with brief information on 15,000 companies covered by Hoover's.
Detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database, includes full-text company profiles, industry information, country analysis, annual reports, equity reports, competitor analyses, and fact sheets.
Regional Business News
Covers regional business publications, providing local and regional coverage of business activity not always found in national and international publications.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Business database covering all aspects of small business entrepreneurship, with full text from ebooks and business plans
Sports Business Research Network (SBRnet)
Updated news and market research in all aspects of the sports industry; equipment sales, facilities, licensing, etc.
Find Books in the Library Catalog
Search below to find a BOOKS in our catalog (including electronic books) or to determine if we have a particular journal (print or electronic). Most library books are on the upper level of the library. E-books are available online from anywhere, but you will be required to enter your SHU network login & password to read them.
Submit Text, Select Field, and Press Enter
If you do not find the item you are looking for, fill out an interlibrary loan form so we can borrow the book or article for you (this is a service that we provide free of charge to students, faculty, and staff).
Find Articles in the Library
Library databases - accessible from the library website or this research guide - contain information that is NOT readily available on the Web. The library subscribes to a variety of business databases that contain journals/articles that will help you with your research.
Business Source Premier & the ABI/Inform databases are great resources for article searching on key topics for your assignment.
Below are screenshots from the Business Source Premier Advanced search page:
Pay special attention to the Subject Terms that are provided to you by the database. They are telling you how this particular subject is being tagged in their database. In this case "Organizational Culture" is known as "Corporate Culture."
I re-run the search using "Corporate Culture" and I retrieve 4 X the amount of the original search results.
Retrieving under 50 results is determinant of a good search strategy (keyword string). Your team could stop here and browse through the results for relevant articles or if the team wanted to go a step further, you could add limiters to the existing search string. Things such as selecting the "Full Text" box or adding subject limiters to your existing search string as exampled below.