Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Business (BU 278) - Prof. Dhingra: Company Research

SHU Business Databases*

*These databases are available to SHU faculty, staff, and students - some may require authentication, even on campus.  All databases will require authetication if you are accessing them from off campus. 

Company Information Resources

Before beginning your quest for company research, you need to find out if the company you are researching is public or is privately held. The amount of information you find, and where you will look for it, will be based on your company’s designation:

    • public - traded on a major stock exchange
    • private - not traded on a major stock exchange
    • international - a non-U.S. corporation

From a research perspective, you will find that a public company’s information is easier to find. Public companies in the U.S. must "disclose" meaning they must make financial data and other information available. In contrast a private company does not need to release this information.

To determine a company's status, do a search on the company name in the  Hoover's Company Capsules & Profiles database. Look at the screenshot below.  Note the stock exchange: NYSE and the Company’s ticker symbol: JCG. Public companies offer their securities to the general public typically through an exchange.

The library's website offers information about and links to all electronic databases. See below for a brief summary of those databases that will be the most effective for company and industry research - and any specialized resources they contain.

For individual business database guides and how to search in them, please select a database from the drop down menu when hovering over the "Company Research" tab at the top of this page. 

Accessibility