Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Healthcare Informatics Research Guide

This research guide provides useful resource for Healthcare Information Systems students at Sacred Heart University

Saving Your Research

  • On this page you can learn how to:
  1. Save research with the free resource management software Zotero (Recommended
  2. Save specific articles by emailing them to yourself
  3. Save articles using through the databases or QuickSearch
  4. Save your searches through the databases or the QuickSearch
  • You can save articles that you've found through the library's databases and online with the free resource management software Zotero, available for free at Zotero.org
  • You can learn how to download, install, and use this software in the short video tutorial down below, and can learn even more about this resource through the library's detailed Zotero Research Guide. 
  • A quick and easy way to save an individual article or several articles is by emailing them to yourself from whichever database that you found them in.
  • First, select your article or articles. This step will differ slightly depending on the database. For example, in the Nursing & Allied Health Database, you select articles by clicking a small box to the left. On databases like CINAHL, MEDLINE, or the library's QuickSearch tool, you select articles by clicking a folder icon to the right.  

 

  • Once you have selected your article or articles, you will then need to find the temporary folder they have been saved to. This folder will usually be found in the upper right of the library's academic databases. 

  • After entering the folder, you will be provided with an option to email the selected articles. 

  • From there you will be able to send your article or articles to any email address of your choice. 
  • You have the option to set up free personal accounts on individual library databases or on the QuickSearch that you can save selected articles into. 
  • To set up such accounts on any library database, you will need to first locate a sign in or log in link. For example, on any database that comes from the database company EBSCO (including CINAHL, MEDLINE, Academic Search Premier, the library's QuickSearch tool), you can get started setting up an account by clicking the Sign In link in the upper right of the database page.

 

 

  • Once you are on a database's sign-in page, you can locate the link to create a new account. From there you will be able to register for a free account with a username and password of your choice. You will be able to set up accounts on non-EBSCO resources following the same general process. 

 

  • It is important to remember that you will not be automatically logged into any of your personal database accounts when you access a library database. You will need to remember to sign into the accounts separately after you have accessed the database through the library website so that you can save your research. Otherwise, any research that you save will be saved into temporary folders that will be emptied as soon as you exit a database.
  • You can also use these free personal database accounts to save your searches. To do so, first remember to sign into your database account.. Then locate a link that for either Search History or Recent Searches. The name will depend on the database, but it will usually be located directly below the search fields.  
  • For example, if you are searching in any EBSCO database or the QuickSearch, you will need to click on the Search History link. 

 

 

  • Not only will you then be able to view all your previous searches, but you will also be provided with an option to save your searches. 

 

 

  • Also, when your search history/recent searches are opened, you will also have the ability to combine selected past searches together into new searches using the operators AND and OR
Accessibility