Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Patents and Trademarks: Additional Patent Resources

The Ryan-Matura Library is a United States Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC) of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

U.S. Patent Databases, Laws, and Treaties

Patent research is a time consuming process. Not only do you have to research both domestic and foreign patents and applications, you must also search "non-patent literature (NPL)." NPL encompasses magazine and journal articles, newspapers, trade journals, product catalogs, the internet, tradeshows, etc. any medium or outlet that would divulge prior-art. Do not limit yourself to researching only the patent databases. The University Library subscribes to other databases that you may find useful in your non-patent literature searches.

The following is a list of online patent resources you may find useful in your research:

U.S.P.T.O. Patent Databases

USPTO Patent Issued Database  - Two-field boolean search
http://patft.uspto.gov/netahtml/PTO/search-bool.html
 
USPTO Patent Applicatons Database - Two-field boolean search, applications 2001 to present.
http://appft.uspto.gov/netahtml/PTO/search-bool.html
 
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) - Image File Wrappers; access patent prosecution documents
http://portal.uspto.gov/external/portal/%21ut/p/_s.7_0_A/7_0_CH
 
Assignments-on-the Web (Patents) -  Patent Assignment information back to August 1980.
http://assignment.uspto.gov/
 
USPTO Official Gazette for Patents - reported decisions of the USPTO; last 52 weeks
http://www.uspto.gov/learning-and-resources/official-gazette/official-gazette-patents
 
USPTO Official Gazette Notices 1964 to present - Patents and Trademarks
http://www.uspto.gov/learning-and-resources/official-gazette
 

USPTO Official Gazette - searchable archive digitized by Hathi Trust 1872 - 1975. http://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/mb?a=listis;c=1475048347

Patent Indexes - searchable archive digitzed by Hathi Trust of patent indexes from Annual Report of the Commissioner of Patents from 1842-1921 and Index of patents issued from the United States Patent Office from 1920-1974. http://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/mb?a=listis;c=503653486

Index of patents issued from the United States Patent and Trademark Office. [print] 1973-2002. [First Floor, Reference Only, PATENT T223 .D3]

USPTO PTAB Statistics - Periodic summaries of data concerning proceedings before the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, including dispositions, pendency, inventory, and other tracking measures.

http://www.uspto.gov/patents-application-process/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/statistics
 
Fastener Quality Act (FQA) Register of Active Fastener Insignia
Adobe Acrobat needed to view document.
http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/trademarks/law/fastener/FQA_Registry.pdf
 

Other Databases for Patent Searching

Directory of Tool and Machinery Patents - http://www.datamp.org/ 

Historic Intellectual Property - http://historicip.com/

National Archives, Records of the Patent & Trademark Office

        http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/241.html

USPTO Patent Search Guides and Classification Guides 

USPTO General Information Concerning Patents
http://www.uspto.gov/patents-getting-started/general-information-concerning-patents
 
USPTO 7-Step U.S. Patent Search Strategy Guide
http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/7_Step_US_Patent_Search_Strategy_Guide_2015_rev.pdf
 
USPTO Full-Text Database Search Help
http://www.uspto.gov/patft/help/help.htm
 
USPTO Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) 
         http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/mpep/index.html
 
USPTO Understanding Patent Classification Help Files
http://www.uspto.gov/patents-application-process/patent-search/understanding-patent-classifications/help
 
Examiner Handbook to the U.S. Patent Classification System
http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/dapp/sir/co/examhbk/index.htm
 
Index to the United States Patent Classification (USPC) System
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/resources/classification/handbook/index.jsp

Keyword & symbol CPC classification search on Espacenet (European Patent Officehttp://worldwide.espacenet.com/classification?locale=en_EP

International Patent Classifications - 2010.1
http://www.wipo.int/classifications/ipc/ipc8/?lang=en
 
USPTO Outline of CPC (Cooperative Patent Classification
         http://www.uspto.gov/web/patents/classification/cpc.html
 
US-to-IPC8 Concordance
http://www.uspto.gov/web/patents/classification/
 
ECLA - European Patent Office Classification System
http://v3.espacenet.com/eclasrch?CY=ep&LG=en
 
USPC Manual of Classification - Class Numbers and Titles
http://www.uspto.gov/web/patents/classification/selectnumwithtitle.htm
 
USPTO Classification Orders
http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/opc/class_orders.htm
 
USPC Cross-Reference Digest for Nanotechnology - Class 977
http://www.uspto.gov/web/patents/classification/uspc977/sched977.htm
 
​USPTO Guide to Kind Codes
http://www.uspto.gov/web/forms/kindcodesum.html

U.S. Patent Laws & Regulations

United States Code Title 35 - Patents
Adobe Acrobat needed to view document.
http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/mpep/consolidated_laws.pdf
 
United State Title 37 - Code of Federal Regulations Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights
Adobe Acrobat needed to view document.
http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/pac/mpep/consolidated_rules.pdf
 
American Inventors Protection Act
http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/olia/aipa/index.htm
 

Patent Journals

Note: Some of these journals are open-access, available to all online without charge; others are subscriptions of the Ryan Matura Library at Sacred Heart University, requiring user authentication. WestLaw Next journals must be accessed after authenticating with that database.

AIPLA Quarterly Journal [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Albany Law Journal of Science & Technology [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Berkeley technology law journal / [electronic resource; EBSCO ASP, BSP; WestLaw Next]. 

Boston College Intellectual Property & Technology Forum [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Boston University Journal of Science & Technology Law [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Cardozo Arts & Entertainment Law Journal [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Chicago-Kent Journal of Intellectual Property [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Columbia Journal of Law & the Arts [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

DePaul Journal of Art, Technology & Intellectual Property Law [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Edison Law + Technology  [electronic resource; OA]. 

Fordham Intellectual Property, Media & Entertainment Law Journal [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Harvard Journal of Law & Technology [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Indian patents news  [electronic resource; ABI-INFORM]. 

Intellectual property brief  [electronic resource; OA Digial Commons]. 

Inventor's Eye [electronic resource].

John Marshall Review of Intellectual Property Law [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Journal of intellectual property rights  [electronic resource; OA-DOAJ; WestLaw Next]. 

Journal of the Patent and Trademark Office Society [index]

Marquette Intellectual Property Law Review [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Nanotechnology Law & Business [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Northwestern Journal of Technology and Intellectual Property  [electronic resource; selected open access; WestLaw Next]

The patent journal [electronic resource; EBSCO BSP]. 

Rutgers Computer & Technology Law Journal [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Stanford Technology Law Review [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Texas Intellectual Property Law Journal [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

UCLA Entertainment Law Review [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

University of Baltimore Intellectual Property Law Journal [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

Vanderbilt Journal of Entertainment & Technology Law [electronic resource; WestLaw Next]

WIPO magazine / World Intellectual Property Organization. 

Patent Searching & Legal Guides

Other Strategies for IP Protection

International Patent Databases, Laws, & Treaties

International Patent Searching Online
 
esp@cenet® - European Patent Office
The worldwide database enables you to search for information about published patent applications from over 72 different countries and regions.
http://ep.espacenet.com/
 
Japan Patent Office Industrial Property Digital Library
http://www.ipdl.inpit.go.jp/homepg_e.ipdl
 
SIPO : State Intellectual Property Office of the People's Republic of China Patent and Application Database
http://www.sipo.gov.cn/sipo_English/
 
WIPO Intellectual Property Digital Library
http://www.wipo.int/ipdl/en/index.jsp
 
PatentScope
http://www.wipo.int/pctdb/en/search-adv.jsp
 
 
Handbook on Industrial Property Information and Documentation: ST.9 - WIPO Standard 9 - INID Codes
Adobe Acrobat needed to view document.
http://www.wipo.int/scit/en/standards/pdf/03-09-01.pdf
 
 

National and International Intellectual Property Offices

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
http://www.uspto.gov/
 
European Patent Office (EPO)
http://www.epo.org/
 
Japan Patent Office (JPO)
http://www.jpo.go.jp/
 
SIPO : State Intellectual Property Office of the People's Republic of China
http://www.sipo.gov.cn/sipo_English/
 
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
http://www.wipo.int/portal/index.html.en
 
African Regional Industrial Property Organization (ARIPO) - English speaking Africa
http://www.aripo.org
 
Organisation Africaine de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OAPI) - French speaking Africa
http://www.oapi.wipo.net/en/OAPI/index.htm
 

International Patent Laws & Treaties 

WIPO Patent Cooperation Treaty
http://www.wipo.int/pct/en/texts/articles/atoc.htm
 
World Trade Organization (WTO) TRIPS - Trade-related aspects of intellectual property rights
http://www.wto.org/english/tratop_e/trips_e/trips_e.htm
 
WIPO Administered Treaties
http://www.wipo.int/treaties/en/
 

Accessibility