Skip to main content

PubMed: The World's Most Comprehensive Biomedical Database: Home

What is PubMed?

Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, PubMed is a free web-accessible database that is comprised of more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

  • Over 23 million records representing articles in the biomedical literature and a small selection of items from the NCBI Books database.
  • Most PubMed records are MEDLINE citations. 
  • Other records include those in different stages of processing (including records provided directly from the journal publisher) but destined to be MEDLINE citations.
  • A relatively small number of records that are included in PubMed but not selected for MEDLINE.

Search PubMed Now

Important Note: The link above only takes you to the free edition of Pubmed maintained by the National Library of Medicine, which provides limited full-text articles. Accessing Medline through the library's subscription database Ebscohost will allow you to search the same collection, but will provide full-text to significantly more (not all) full-text articles.

For articles that you cannot get full-text through PubMed or MEDLINE, you can always request them through Sacred Heart University's InterlIbrary Loan.

And what is MEDLINE?

  • PubMed provides access to MEDLINE®, the National Library of Medicine’s premier bibliographic database containing citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and in other countries.
  • The scope of MEDLINE includes such diverse topics as microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology and environmental health. The categories covered in MEDLINE include everything from anatomy, organisms, diseases, psychiatry, and psychology to the physical sciences.
  • MEDLINE currently contains over 20 million references dating back to 1946.
  • New material is added Tuesday through Saturday.
  • Coverage is worldwide, but most records (about 90%) are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
  • Approximately 83% of citations added in the last five years include a published abstract.
  • The National Library of Medicine leases MEDLINE data to researchers and commercial vendors, but PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE directly from NLM.

Subject Guide

Geoffrey Staysniak's picture
Geoffrey Staysniak
Contact:
5151 Park Avenue, Fairfield CT 06835
(203) 396-6051.
Subjects:Health Sciences