Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Irish Studies: A Research Guide: Finding Journal Articles & Databases

An introductory guide to research in Irish Studies.

How to Find Journal Articles

For our example search, we want to search for journal articles that discuss the tradition of storytelling in Irish culture for a paper assigned in an English class focusing on legends, myths and folklore in Ireland. To begin, we will start at the Sacred Heart University Library homepage at http://library.sacredheart.edu/.


To start our example search, we will select one of the “Key Databases” from our list to the right. For this search, we’ll use JSTOR. To access the database, we need to go to the “Browse Databases” box on the right-hand side of the library homepage and select “all Databases A-Z” to take us to an alphabetical list of databases from the library.

From the "Databases A-Z List," click on the letter "J."


From the menu below, we will select the link for JSTOR at the top of the list of databases


The JSTOR main page presents a one-box basic search. For our search, we want to use the advanced search option. Click on the link for “Advanced Search” and then click on “Advanced Search” again from the pull-down menu.

The “Advanced Search” page allows us to search with multiple keywords linked by what are called Boolean operators. Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT are used to combine or exclude items in an advanced search. Using Boolean operators can yield more focused results from your search query. When using AND, you are searching for only results that include both keywords inserted into the separate search boxes. OR will yield results that include at least one of the keywords in the search boxes. NOT allows you to exclude a particular term from the search, like having a search for cats that excludes dogs (cats NOT dogs). For our purposes, we want a search that yields results combining “Ireland” OR "Irish" AND “storytelling,” so we can retrieve results that only include all keywords.

Additionally, we can select things like item type (Articles) and language (English) .

Finally, we can use the "Journal Filter" toward the bottom of the page to narrow our results to specific disciplines. For our research, selecting Classical Studies, Folklore, Irish Studies or history will give us results that are specific to journals that specialize in publishing Irish studies research.

This search yields 123 results.

From here you can sift through the results, read and download articles, and generate pre-formatted citations for your bibliography. Click "Cite this item" and a window pops up that presents copyable, formatted citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago style for the selected article, as shown below.

Additionally, after clicking on the title on the results page, you can send an article permalink to your own email, as seen in the steps below.

Step 1.    

Step 2.

Key Databases

Multi-disciplinary resource with full-text articles from nearly 4,500 journals including 3,600 peer-reviewed titles, many from 1975 forward. Searchable cited references for 1,000 titles, including titles relevant to Irish Studies. For assistance searching Academic Search Premier, see the video below.

The DOAJ includes several open-access, full-text scholarly journals focused on Irish Studies. Full-text journal articles can be searched across all journals, which are browsable by title and subject. For assistance searching the directory, click the DOAJ logo below to access their helpful FAQ page.

The following titles are a selection of open-access journal titles in Irish Studies:

Colloquia Humanistica
ISSN: 2081-6774 (Print); 2392-2419 (Online)
https://ispan.waw.pl/journals/index.php/ch/index
Double blind peer review
Subject: Geography. Anthropology. Recreation: Anthropology: Ethnology. Social and cultural anthropology
Date added to DOAJ: 31 Mar 2015
CC BY
Tick icon: journal was accepted after March 2014​​
Irish Journal of Applied Social Studies
IJASS
ISSN: 1393-7022 (Print); 2009-8642 (Online)
http://arrow.dit.ie/ijass/
Subject: Social Sciences: Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform
Date added to DOAJ: 25 Jun 2012
 
Estudios Irlandeses : Journal of Irish Studies
ISSN: 1699-311X (Print)
http://www.estudiosirlandeses.org/
Subject: General Works
Date added to DOAJ: 18 Oct 2011
 
Irish Journal of Academic Practice
ISSN: 2009-7387 (Online)
http://arrow.dit.ie/ijap/
Peer review
Subject: Education: Theory and practice of education
Date added to DOAJ: 20 May 2015
CC BY-NC-SA
Tick icon: journal was accepted after March 2014​​
Studi Irlandesi : a Journal of Irish Studies
ISSN: 2239-3978 (Print)
http://www.fupress.net/index.php/bsfm-sijis
Subject: Language and Literature
Date added to DOAJ: 3 Jul 2012
CC BY
Irish Migration Studies in Latin America
ISSN: 1661-6065 (Print)
http://www.irlandeses.org/imsla.htm
Subject: Political science: Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration
Date added to DOAJ: 8 Aug 2006
 
The Irish Journal of Gothic and Horror Studies
ISSN: 2009-0374 (Print)
http://irishgothichorrorjournal.homestead.com/
Subject: Language and Literature: Literature (General): Drama: Motion pictures
Date added to DOAJ: 18 Dec 2007
 
James Joyce Online Notes
ISSN: 2049-9396 (Online)
http://www.jjon.org
Editorial review
Subject: Language and Literature: English language
Date added to DOAJ: 9 Oct 2013
CC BY-NC-ND
Tick icon: journal was accepted after March 2014​​
Irish Medical Journal : Journal of the Irish Medical Association
IMJ
ISSN: 0332-3102 (Print)
http://www.imj.ie/
Subject: Medicine: Medicine (General)
Date added to DOAJ: 6 Sept 2004
 
Journal of Franco-Irish Studies
JOFIS
ISSN: 2009-7395 (Online)
http://arrow.dit.ie/jofis/
Peer review
Subject: Language and Literature: English literature | Language and Literature: French literature - Italian literature - Spanish literature - Portuguese literature
Date added to DOAJ: 8 Dec 2014

Multidisciplinary resource, which houses a significant number of resources of interest to Philosophy, Theology and Religious Studies, with full-text articles from thousands of scholarly & peer-reviewed journals. For help with searching JSTOR, click on the icon below

Multidisciplinary database providing full text and indexing & abstracting for more than 12,000 total publications, plus 440,000 photos, maps & flags and more than 17,500 company profiles. The collection includes journals dedicated specifically to Philosophy, Theology and Religious Studies.

For assistance using the advanced-search functions of an EBSCO database like MainFile, see the video below.

Databases

History Reference Center

History database with full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, full text from more than 150 leading history periodicals, plus biographies and historical documents, photos, maps, & videos.

World History In Context 

Full-text articles on U.S. history from 120 journals and over 2,000 reference works. Also contains over 59,600 primary documents; and biographies, photos, maps, and videos.

Literature Criticism Online

Full-text criticisms of 20th century and contemporary literary works (fiction and non-fiction) and poetry from all eras, and author biographical information.

Global Issues In Context 

Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events, with rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs.

GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources

Environmental and sustainability database with full text from journals and news, multimedia and refereed case studies.

BioOne 

Full-text and abstracts on biology, ecology and environmental sciences from over 50 journals.

Ireland the Island

Accessibility