Databases A to Z

all a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) [ProQuest]  

Detailed citations identifying monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards (approx. 860,00 records).

ABI/Inform Complete  

The comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database,includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.

Academic Search Premier   

Multi-disciplinary resource with full-text articles from nearly 4,500 journals including 3,600 peer-reviewed titles, many from 1975. Searchable cited references for 1,000 titles.

ACM Digital Library [Asso. for Computing Machinery]  

Full-text and abstracts on computer science, plus video and audio files (Sample titles: Communications of the ACM, XRDS: Crossroads, The ACM Magazine for Students, Computers in Entertainment) including from over 60 journals and all publications of the Association for Computing Machinery.

ArticleFirst   

Multi-disciplinary index of articles from the table of contents of 16,000 journals from 1990.

ATLA Religion   

Index of articles, books reviews, and other works on Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues from over 1,500 journals and other works from 1949. Some sources date from 1818.

Biography in Context   

Full-text biographies of contemporary and historical people from the United States and the world.

BioOne   


Full-text and abstracts on biology, ecology and environmental sciences from over 50 journals

BizMiner  

Industry analyses: financial ratios, industry ratios, market research reports, and competitive market analyses. 

BMJ Best Practices  

BMJ Best Practice: combines the latest medical research, evidence, guidelines, and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.

BMJ Clinical Evidence  

Summarizes evidence on medical interventions from high quality systematic reviews and large well-designed randomized controlled trials – with over 3000 interventions and answers more than 570 clinical questions

Books In Print  


Index of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios, and videos with optional reviews.

Britannica  


Online version of the encyclopedia Britannica.

Business Insights: Essentials   

Business collection including company fundamentals, investment reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data & company histories. Formerly Business and Company Resource Center. 

Business Source Premier   

Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.  Covers more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text  

Full-text articles on nursing and allied health topics from over 530 journals and 200 books from 1937.

ClasePeriodica  


Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials  


Bibliography of controlled trials from international journals on systematic reviews.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews  


Full text articles on the effects of healthcare, focusing on evidence-based medicine and studies, from 4800 records.

CQ Researcher  


Single-themed reports covering current economic, education, environmental, health, international affairs, political, and social issues.

Credo Reference  

Good starting point for research with reliable, full-text information including e-books, journal articles, images, videos, and more.

Criminal Justice Abstracts   


Abstracts and indexes of international journals, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on criminal justice topics.

DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)  


Abstracts of systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world.

Directory of Open Access Journals   

DOAJ includes thousands of open access, full-text scientific and scholarly journals.  Full-text journal articles can be searched across all journals.  Journals are also browsable by title and subject.

Dissertations (WorldCat)  

Index of dissertations and theses available from institutions worldwide. 

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)  

Large collection of dissertations and theses - abstracts & citations only - from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.

DTIC Online   


Defense Technical Information Center. Central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information

Ebrary  

Collection of electronic books (e-books).  Most -- but not all -- of the library's e-books can be accessed here directly (or via an Advanced Search in the Library Catalog). 

ECO (Electronic Collections Online)   

Multi-disciplinary resource with abstracts from over 5,400 journals from 1980.

EconLit  

Economics – Finance   Full-text articles and abstracts from economic  journals from 1969, ebooks, dissertations, and full-text book reviews

EdITLib  

Full-text articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to Educational Technology and E-Learning; from AACE (Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education)

Education Research Complete  

Full-text articles and abstracts on all education topics and levels from over 2,700 journals, 100 books, and conference papers.

Educator's Reference Complete  

Full-text articles on educational principles, best practices, and child development from over 450 journals, reports, and reference sources from 1980.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)  

Full-text articles on educational literature and resources with links to more than 100,000 full-text documents from ERIC.

(Important information concerning ERIC documents, click here.)

European Views of the Americas  

Index of over 32,000 entries about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, covering European exploration and portrayals of native American peoples .

Expanded Academic ASAP  

Multi-disciplinary resource with full-text articles and abstracts from nearly 3,400 journals including 2,089 peer-reviewed titles from 1980.

General OneFile  


Multidisciplinary resource with full-text articles and images from nearly 10,200 periodicals including 3,000 peer-reviewed titles, most from 1980.

General Reference Center Gold  


Multi-disciplinary resource with full-text articles, abstracts and links from over 4,500 titles including journals, newspapers, and reference works from 25 years ago.

GPO (Government Printing Office)  


Index of U.S. government documents including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and executive department materials.

GreenFile   


Full-text of over 5500 records and indexes and abs tracts of over 468,000 records on environment issues including climate change, green building, agriculture, and pollution.

Hartford Courant Historical Newspapers  


Newspaper articles covering historical Connecticut news from 1764 to 1922.

Health & Wellness Resource Center  

Full-text articles and abstracts on health and medical topics for health care professionals and consumers from 3100 journals, reference works, and pamphlets.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)   

 A comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information is abstracted from journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

History Abstracts with Full Text  


Full-text articles and abstracts on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from over 1800 journals and 130 books.

Hoover’s Company Profiles  

Contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives.  Also offers industry analyses, information on a company locations, summary financials, top competitors, top officers and more.

iInforme! (Revistas en Español)  


Full-text articles and images from popular Hispanic magazines, over 200,000 entries.

JSTOR  

Multidisciplinary resource with full-text articles from thousands of scholarly & peer-reviewed journals.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts  


Index of librarianship topics from over 600 periodicals, books, research reports, and proceedings from the mid-1960's.

Literature Criticism  

Full-text criticisms of 20th century and contemporary literary works (fiction and non-fiction) and poetry from all eras, and author biographical information.

MEDLINE  


Full-text articles and abstracts on all aspects of medicine and health-related fields from over 4800 journals. Created by the National Library of Medicine; use of Medical Subject Headings is available.

Mergent Online   

Detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database, includes full-text company profiles, industry information, country analysis, annual reports, equity reports, competitor analyses, and fact sheets.

MLA Directory of Periodicals   


Detailed information on over 7,100 journals including editorial contact information, circulation, frequency, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.

MLA International Bibliography  


Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations with over 1.8 million citations from the 1920’s. Produced by the Modern Language Association.

National Newspapers Core (1985-Current)  

News coverage from a variety of major U.S. newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

NetAdvantage  

Full-text information on business and investment information including Standard & Poor’s research on: data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries.

NeuroScience/SciVerse  


Full-text articles and abstracts on neurophysiology, life sciences, and health from over 300 journals, books, and reference works from the first volume of each title.

Nursing and Allied Health Source  
Nursing - Physical Therapy - Occupational Therapy - Athletic Training - Sports Medicine - Social Work
Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine from 1986 to present (sample titles: Journal of Nursing Scholarship, Journal of Athletic Training, Physical Therapy). 
OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)  

A directory of open-access digital repositories, including SHU's Digital Commons.  Go to 'Search Repository Contents,' or use OpenDOAR to find repositories or groups of repositories that fit particular needs using the 'Find' search.

OT Search  


Index of articles on Occupational Therapy.

OTDbase  


A-Z List description: Index of Occupation Therapy articles from 20 journals from 1970.

OVID  


Full-text articles and books on medicine and health topics from over 1200 sources.

PapersFirst   

 Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide, over 5 million documents from 1993.

Passport GMID  

From Euromonitor International, a global market information database and analysis tool containing data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers.

Philosopher's Index  

 Abstracts of over 485,000 articles from 1400+ journals covering scholarly research in all major areas of philosophy. Some articles are available in full text.

PNAS (Proceedings of the National Academy of Science)  


Full-text articles, research reports, and commentaries on biological, physical, and social sciences from 1990 to 6 months ago.

Proceedings  


Index of worldwide conference proceedings, over 169,000 documents from 1993.

Project Muse  


Full-text articles on the humanities and social sciences from over 350 peer-reviewed journals from 1995.

PsycARTICLES  


Full-text articles on psychology from 60 journals, including 48 published by the APA, from 1894.

PsycINFO  


Full-text articles and abstracts on all aspects of psychology and related disciplines from over 2,200 journals, some dating from 1887.

Regional Business News  


Full-text articles on regional business news from 50 local publications.

Science Direct/SciVerse   

Full-text articles and abstracts on neurophysiology, life sciences, and health from over 300 journals, books, and reference works from the first volume of each title.

Science In Context  

Full- text articles on the natural and life sciences from 640 periodicals, science encyclopedias, and reference works.

SciFinder  

Provides unlimited access to the world’s largest and most reliable collection of chemistry and related science information. One can search for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references.

Social Work Abstracts  


Abstracts on all aspects of social work from over 450 social work and human services journals from 1977.

Sports Business Research Network  

Full- text articles and links on sports market research, industry news, broadcasting, sponsorship, sports equipment sales, and marketing.

U.S. History in Context  

Full-text articles on U.S. history from 120 journals and over 2,000 reference works. Also contains over 59,600 primary documents; and biographies, photos, maps, and videos.

Web of Science  

Index covering the journal literature of science, technology, and the social sciences. Allows you to search for a topic, an author, or for articles that cite a known author or work. Coverage: 2000-2013.  Note: This database is very sensitive to cookies already in your browser.  If you have trouble, we suggest that you clear all your browser history and your cookies cache.  Recommended browsers: Firefox, Chrome, but not: Safari, Internet Explorer.

Westlaw Campus Research  

In depth coverage of law materials, including law reviews, cases, statutes, codes, & regulations.

World History in Context  

Full-text articles on U.S. history from 120 journals and over 2,000 reference works. Also contains over 59,600 primary documents; and biographies, photos, maps, and videos.

WorldAlmanac  


Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, World Almanac & Book of Facts, World Almanac of the U.S.A., World Almanac of U.S. Politics, and World Almanac for Kids.

WorldCat  


Comprehensive catalog of books, audio and visual materials, web resources, and other materials available worldwide; contains  millions of citations in over 400 languages.

Internal page Search block

Hours May 14-19

Tuesday, May 14

8 am-8 pm

Reference Desk

8 am-8 pm

Wednesday, May 15

to Friday, May 17

9 am-4:30 pm

Reference Desk

9 am-4:30 pm

Saturday-Sunday

May 18-19

CLOSED

Summer hours begin

Monday May 20

Full Summer 2013 hours

 


Share:

  • Facebook
  • RSS
  • YouTube
  • Flickr