Skip to main content

Patents and Trademarks: Global IP

The Ryan-Matura Library is a United States Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC) of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

Using Patents in Your Research

 

Celebrate World Intellectual Property Day - April 26

 

Need to know?


International development ♦ World health ♦ Education ♦ International business ♦ Security & safety

Foreign Patent Databases

N.B. The following patent databases are from English-speaking nations or offer English language content and may be useful for preliminary patent searching. Since patent law and practice vary from nation to nation, it is important to obtain a thorough understanding of both the patent document content and the applicable law. 

National Patent Databases

Canadian Patent Search (1920 to current)

German Patent & Trademark Database (English Language Portal)

Israeli Patent Search (English Language Portal)

Japanese Patent Office (JPO) (English Language Portal)

U.K. Patent Search 

Multinational Patent Databases

Eurasian Patent Organization (EAPO) - Russian Federation, Turkmenistan, Belarus, Tajikistan, Azerbaijan, Kyrgyz, Armenia, and Moldova 

European Paten Organization (EPO) - dozens of nations from western and eastern Europe, Iceland, and parts of the former U.S.S.R.); manages Espacenet patent database.

LatiPat (Espacenet) - an access point for searching public patent documents of Latin America and Spain using the Espacenet platform; inlcudes ArgentinaBoliviaBrasilChile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, España, Guatemala, Honduras, México, Nicaragua,

 Panamá, Paraguay, Perú, República Dominicana, Uruguay, Venezuela

Patentscope (WIPO patent database)


International IP News

Follow current developments in world-wide intellectual property with Global IP News (subject specialty publications), available through library ejournal Business Insights database.

The World Intellectual Property Oganization (WIPO) publishes WIPO Magazine (six times per year), with news about inventions, trademarks, plus technological and legal IP developments.