Skip to main content

Patents and Trademarks: Advanced Searching

The Ryan-Matura Library is a United States Patent and Trademark Resource Center (PTRC) of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

Patents You Know

USPTO 9,000,000

The 9,000,000th U.S. Patent was issued on 7 April 2015!

  Patent Collection

The patent collection, located in the Ryan-Matura Library, includes nearly 10,000,000 United States patents and 27,000,000 foreign patents in the following formats:

United States Patent Holdings

  • 1790 + - USAPat DVD and CASSIS2
  • 1790 + - also available via the internet http://www.uspto.gov/
  • 1790 + - PubWEST (Web-based Examiner Search Tool) USPTO intranet: available in Ryan-Matura Library only.
    (NOTE: The Reference Desk staff will need to log you into the PTRC workstation.)
  • 1790 + - PubEAST (Examiner Automated Search Tool) USPTO intranet: available in Ryan-Matura Library only.
    (NOTE: The Reference Desk staff will need to log you into the PTRC workstation.)

Foreign Patent Holdings

  • Foreign Image and Data Load (FIDL) database: 35 countries and international patent agencies represented - PubWEST USPTO intranet: available in Ryan-Matura Library only.
    (NOTE: The Reference Desk staff will need to log you into the PubWEST workstation.)

In addition to the patents themselves, the library contains guides to the of the USPC and CPC Patent Classification systems, International Patent Classifications (IPC), PCT Guidelines, information on attorneys and agents registered to practice before the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, fee schedules, and similar material.

Searching Patents on the USPTO Public Web Site

Finding Patents on the USPTO Public Web Site

U.S. patents (including full-text) can be searched from any internet-connected computer with limited Boolean operators on the USPTO web site:

The Index to the USPC allows searching a very large alphabetical list of terms to find related USPC classifications.

To search by keywords to identify CPC classifications, use this Index to the CPC (search box on lower right sde of page), or Espacenet's Classification Search.

Searching Patents with the PTRC Terminal

PTRC Patent Database Tools

More advanced and complete research is available using a dedicated computer station at Sacred Heart University's library PTRC. Paper printing is not available; bring flash drive to save results.

  •  PubEAST - The "public" version of the Examiner's Automated Search Tool provides a form-based search capability for novice users, and enables expert users to submit searches in Bibliographic Retrieval System (BRS) syntax and IS&R syntax. . Faster, more efficient interface with advanced searching, filtering, navigation, and display. List functions allow creation of unique results sets. Page and text marking and annotation features available. (Access via a PTRC Workstation) provides seamless access to multiple text data sources including:
    • Pre-Grant (applications, etc.) Publications (US-PGPUB)
    • U.S. Patents (USPAT) full-text available from 1920 to present
    • U.S. Optical Character Recognition (USOCR) from 1920 to 1971 were scanned using OCR technology and contain many errors because difficulty translating of hand-written and old-style typeface content
    • European Patent Office (EPO) Abstracts
    • Japanese Patent Office (JPO) Abstracts
    • Foreign Patent Retrieval system (FPRS) databases
    • image data sources for full and clipped images
  • PubWEST - The "public" version of the Web-based Examiner's Search Tool offers a server-based application tool for searching patent full-text and abstract databases.  It also uses the search language entitled Bibliographic Retrieval Services (BRS).  WEST provides identical text and image data sources as PubEAST having the following user and system functions:  general patent database searches; searches bound to specific document sections; limited general and bound searches; display of search results based on a range of specified formats; display of page images of patents; user-managed collections of documents; user-managed cases containing searches; local and TCP/IP printing for patent image documents; links to online patent classification guides. PubWEST offers advanced Boolean operator and truncation searching (ADJ, SAME, WITH, $#, ?) making chemical and concept searching easier. List functions allow creation of unique results sets. (Access via a PTRC workstation)
    • Pre-Grant Publications (applications, etc.) (US-PGPUB)
    • U.S. Patents (USPAT) - full-text available from 1920 to present; 
    • U.S. Optical Character Recognition (USOCR) - from 1920 to 1971 were scanned using OCR technology and contain many errors because difficulty translating of hand-written and old-style typeface content.
    • European Patent Office (EPO) Abstracts
    • Japanese Patent Office (JPO) Abstracts
    • Foreign Patent Retrieval system (FPRS) databases
    • image data sources for full and clipped images

Schedule PTRC Search Sessions